Get a Husband Brunswick Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I have never had Brunswick stew so I don't have anything to compare it too. I cooked as directed except scaled it down to 6 servings. I thought it was a little too sweet with the cream corn. We ate it (my husband ate two bowls!) but I don't think I will be making it again. Really glad I scaled the recipe down or I would have had too much food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaneen Arias

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dayton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Very good! I used regular kraft bbq sauce and didn't have a pepper on hand. Turned out lovely in a cast iron pot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Made this yesterday for husband. He loved it but I'm spolied on local smokehouse recipe. Bought cooked pork loin at grocery store and cooked london broil for beef. Time consuming chopping up meat but well worth because husband loved it. Thank you for recipe. We will def makes this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanalZoneGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
My mom loved it and my Grandfather use to make the best stew. He made it when the Carnival was in town and the Volunteer Fire department raised money by selling food. So she has a memory of what it should be like. Was a big hit with my club also. Oh I am from Virginia the true home of Brunswick stew. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
A great stew concept....made quite a few changes to make it great. Added one 32 ounce box of chicken stock, one chopped ham steak, one bag of of large limas, one can of corn drained, one can of sliced carrots chopped, 1 tbsp garlic powder and one can of chopped whole potatoes and 2 tbsp liquid smoke. This filled a huge stock pot and was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DisneyWife2009

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Fantastic! My husband refuses to eat left over reheated meats. I made him this Brunswick stew and he raved. This recipe is now my answer for what to do with left over meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
A Virginia staple. I absolutely love this stew. I remember having it growing up but of course back then they used whatever meat the hunted. I much prefer the chicken and beef now (I've been away from the country too long). I make this almost exactly as it is written. The only difference is I use 2 cans of cream style and 1 can of niblets. My family and friends always rave when I make this. Make sure you cook this for at least an hour. Of course the longer you let it simmer, the more flavor you'll have. I usually make it in the morning and let it simmer all day. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
We used leftover smoked pork and some leftover beef brisket. My wife also accidentally added wing sauce instead of hot sauce....still delicious! We fed this to a large group and everyone LOVED it. Kids loved it too. Great for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I'm giving this stew 4 stars because I made quite a lot of adjustments as previous reviewers had stated. I added 1# each of ground beef, pork sausage, and leftover grilled shredded chicken(white & dark meat). This still was a ton of meat, but not overwhelming. Also added 1/2 of a bag og frozen corn, and baby limas, 1 can of creamed corn, & left out the ketchup. It was still pretty sweet. Next time I would like to use roast instead of ground, and put in more limas. Still really tasty. My 2, 5, & 11 year olds gobbled it up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Flannagin Urbanowitz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States