Get a Husband Brunswick Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
OMG I thought I would make this and keep the rest in the freezer for future use, but no. It was way too much! I'm a tiny person, and although this says it serves 16 it really serves more like 20 (or even 25). I ended up sharing the rest of mine with a friend who has a family of 4. we all LOVED it! No changes had to be made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I don't need another husband, but the one I already have said "I think this is one of the best things you've ever made!" I also took leftovers to my parents and my father, who is never very enthusiastic about trying new dishes, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I'm a Minnesota girl and had never tried anything like this. I've made it several times this last year and everyone has loved it. Just like any soup or stew it can be a little different every time you make it. I like to add a couple cans of black-eyed peas, or whatever kind of beans I have in the cupboard. Yes, it does have a sweeter taste than stews I was used to making but I think that's what makes it different. Just like all stews, it's better the second day! Thanks for the great recipe. I've added it to my kitchen line up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
A bit too sweet for our tastes but very good. I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs as the only meat in the recipe and chopped the bell pepper before use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
OMG this is awesome!! Only changes I made were using 3 lbs of shredded chicken breast, & 1 cup of bbq sauce. My whole family loved this. It made so much we froze the leftovers. It is better the 2nd day. Oh so good!!! Freezes very well, but won't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I read the reviews and made a few changes. I used two 10 ounce cans of Rotel Original Tomatoes with chilies, one can of whole kernel corn and two cans of creamstyle corn. I cubed the pork, beef and chicken and browned them with the celery and onion. Everything else stayed the same. This is a fantastic dish and has been saved in my personal recipe file. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I accidentally added too much hot sauce, so I had to add more chicken broth, ketchup, and a lot more barbecue sauce to compensate. Everyone loved it!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conyers, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Great stuff! I goofed a bit at the store and wound up using hot Italian sausage and ground turkey but it was still fantastic. My wife has been sick and this was the first meal that has tasted good to her so I think it's a staple now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I love this recipe!! I have made it numerous times, and it is one of the hubs's favorites!! I use a sage sausage instead of pork, and I don't use the celery or green pepper because he doesn't like that. I pref the thickness of this stew over the watery versions, and I like the chunks of meat as opposed to it looking like its gone through a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This is Brunswick Stew exactly the way I remember it. I have used this recipe several times with only minor variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagnoliaPrince

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States