Get a Husband Brunswick Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This is just too easy! I'm always missing an ingredient or two, but it still turns out delicious. I do like to add a little chopped potato... ~I'll never buy Mrs. Fearnow's again~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Titus2woman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I improvised, as always. I used whole corn instead of creamed, & didn't have any pork. I used celery salt instead of the celery (boiling celery for 3 hours makes it kind of gross). I substituted Rotel, instead of the 3 cans of peeled tomatoes, & bell pepper. I used marinara sauce instead of ketchup, Stubs original instead of the hickory sauce, & added some beef bouillon. The BBQ sauce is an unusual ingredient, & I'd never put ketchup in a stew, not in Texas anyway. All in all, this was a pretty good meal, if you have some ground beef & leftover chicken &/or pork. The creamed corn would make it a bit thicker, you may also add some instant potatoes & extra salt as needed at the end, if you're running out of time & it's too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Transferred to the crock pot for a couple of hours. Too sweet for our taste. Maybe less creamed corn or just corn would suit our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Way, way too sweet. Over powering taste of bbq sauce. Im hoping adding vinegar will tone down the sickenly sweet bbq flavor away. Next time I attemp making Brunswick stew there will not be any ketchup or bbq sauce in it. I was shocked those two ingredients were in the recipe. All the brunswick stew Ive eaten have never had that bbq sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenbanton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Never had Brunswick stew, this was really good! Had to blend the tomatoes a bit, as my son won't eat anything with a hint of chunky tomato, used pork sausage instead of ground pork and hamburger, otherwise followed the recipe. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
GREAT way to use up that left over Thanksgiving turkey! We made this for the first time last year. We used our left over turkey meat from Thanksgiving. It was fabulous! Hearty & warm, which is what is needed during the cold weather. We also used the suggestions on the corn. Definitely a must keep recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
freaking amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krrutherford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This is incredible. My husband ate three bowls as soon as it was ready. Said he couldn't get enough. I served mine with homemade cornbread. Will definitely add this one to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I made this for the very first time and this recipe is AMAZING! A fall/winter meal classic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Raw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I will eat just about anything, but did not care for this at all. This was my family's first introduction to Brunswick Stew. Thought it would be perfect to take on our cabin hunting trip. Just too much BBQ sauce and too sweet for our taste. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shamokin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fiume Veneto, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States