Get a Husband Brunswick Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Can't wait to try this recipe. All the ingredients sound authentic and I need me a husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I have made this for YEARS... wanted to check some of the things needed to make it and discovered I have never reviewed it.... SOOOO have to review it. I am from Atlanta and let me assure you, this is EXACTLY what you find at the corner bbq stand (in Georgia, BBQ is a little different than in other areas, such as California), bbq comes dry and if you want to add sauce you do that later. ANYWAY, this is the best Brunswick stew!! I use the chicken from Costco (I have also used that chicken in the frozen section that already has bbq sauce on it – turns out good too, just use less BBQ sauce) and leftover shredded pork - THE SHREDDED MEATS make it… so it really needs the shredded texture. I also like some whole corn in addition to the creamed. EVERYTHING ELSE IS PERFECT… don’t add more veggies if you want southern style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is my go-to brunswick stew recipe. I have made it 5 times, for dinners at home and for pot-lucks at work. It always gets rave reviews and special requests. The recipe does make a lot, which never goes to waste. My modifications to this recipe started with my first trial of it because I wanted a crockpot-easy recipe. I start by turning on the crockpot and putting in the ketchup, bbq sauce, and tomatoes, letting it heat up on low while I saute the celery and onion. I brown the beef and sausage (Jimmy Dean 'HOT') separately and add them to the crockpot when they're finished. For the chicken (Ive used rotisserie chicken from walmart as well as ground chicken- even substituted ground turkey when no rotisserie chicken was available) there is some flexibility. I add all this to the crockpot, stirring occasionally. In time crunches, Ive gone ahead and added the cream corn and whole green pepper and cooked it until the pepper softens, then chopped and added back to the mix. I usually make this the night before I need it and refrigerate. In the morning, I'll turn it on high and its piping hot and delicious by lunchtime! This recipe makes a huge amount of stew but I have never had any leftovers. The girls at work literally scrape the bottom of the crockpot. Every kernel of corn is gone by the end of the day! I cannot praise this recipe enough! It is simple and delicious and a wonderful addition to my recipe box! I've gotten rave reviews from everyone I have ever made it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraPriceRN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I am an old south girl, and I have made this stew for lots of folks. This recipe is awesome and everyone ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I tried this last night and it reminds me of the wonderful stew I get a several well known BBQ restaurants in Atlanta. The only changes I made: added 3 small potatoes cut in large dice, about 1 1/2 cup frozen lima beans, exchanged the green bell pepper for red (personal preference). Also, made this in the crock-pot (2hrs on high, then on low for 1 hr) - it was wonderful! I will definitely make this one again. Thanks so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISAC8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I only added my leftover pulled pork and this was still absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Absolutely delicious. I actually cut the green pepper up and had it cook in the crock pot all day. Turned out perfect. Makes A LOT! And it was just my husband and I. So I froze half of it for later. I will make this again but try with pulled pork instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This was good, the Ok kind of good. Not fabulous or 'get a husband' great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
OMG I thought I would make this and keep the rest in the freezer for future use, but no. It was way too much! I'm a tiny person, and although this says it serves 16 it really serves more like 20 (or even 25). I ended up sharing the rest of mine with a friend who has a family of 4. we all LOVED it! No changes had to be made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I don't need another husband, but the one I already have said "I think this is one of the best things you've ever made!" I also took leftovers to my parents and my father, who is never very enthusiastic about trying new dishes, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States