Get a Husband Brunswick Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Subbed leftover pork loin for the ground pork, omitted the ground beef and used a container of bbq shredded chicken instead of deboning one. Dreamland bbq sauce and a bag of frozen lima beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This was very good and quite easy to make. I added frozen lima beans since most recipes for Brunswick Stew include this. I also added 4 potatoes and 6 would have been better, they add some substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUDYFLYNN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
My family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Always a favorite in our house. Enough to make for dinner and freeze leftovers. I usually use 1 pound each of pork and beef, and time permitting, cook 1 raw chicken on the stove instead of slow cooker. Meat of chicken fall right off bones. I also only use 2 cans of cream of corn and will add lima beans to the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was stew, but not traditional Brunswick stew which was prettty disappointing considering the effort and expense. It's good and hearty. I should have known that since it didn't call for lima beans or bread crumbs that it wouldn't be what I was expecting. I won't make it again; I 'll keep looking for a traditionaal version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany E.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Very very good stew. Used leftover smoked turkey and boston butts from a party the night before. I didn't use the ketchup because in previous preparations it was too sweet. Beware,.it does make a LOT. I used two cans creamed corn and two cans whole kernal corn. I have a ring on my finger but no paper yet so lets see where this gets me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Marren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is teh best recipe ever... I used to buy Brunswick stew from a restaurant that closed all locations in my area, i found this recipe and was hooked, i make it for potlucks and people request met omake it all the time you will LOVE IT!! my only change i do not use ketchup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I made this stew with shredded chicken, pork, and beef instead of ground meats b/c that's how we used to make it growing up in VA. It was very good, and a hit with my family. But, I still feel like something is missing. I'll play around with it a little more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
this is an awesome recipe !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I made this in the crock pot. It was quite runny after a few hours so when I added the corn, I put the crock on high and took the lid off for the last hour. This stew came out great but be warned, it makes a lot. Almost overflowed my large crock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 101-110 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States