Get a Husband Brunswick Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I improvised, as always. I used whole corn instead of creamed, & didn't have any pork. I used celery salt instead of the celery (boiling celery for 3 hours makes it kind of gross). I substituted Rotel, instead of the 3 cans of peeled tomatoes, & bell pepper. I used marinara sauce instead of ketchup, Stubs original instead of the hickory sauce, & added some beef bouillon. The BBQ sauce is an unusual ingredient, & I'd never put ketchup in a stew, not in Texas anyway. All in all, this was a pretty good meal, if you have some ground beef & leftover chicken &/or pork. The creamed corn would make it a bit thicker, you may also add some instant potatoes & extra salt as needed at the end, if you're running out of time & it's too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Transferred to the crock pot for a couple of hours. Too sweet for our taste. Maybe less creamed corn or just corn would suit our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Way, way too sweet. Over powering taste of bbq sauce. Im hoping adding vinegar will tone down the sickenly sweet bbq flavor away. Next time I attemp making Brunswick stew there will not be any ketchup or bbq sauce in it. I was shocked those two ingredients were in the recipe. All the brunswick stew Ive eaten have never had that bbq sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Never had Brunswick stew, this was really good! Had to blend the tomatoes a bit, as my son won't eat anything with a hint of chunky tomato, used pork sausage instead of ground pork and hamburger, otherwise followed the recipe. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
OK. This is the closest I have seen to what I consider to be Brunswick Stew. While typically my Brunswick Stew doesn't include beef, I DO prefer the flavor that beef adds (and I like left-over chuck roast.) Typically, I use chicken, chuck roast, onions, corn, lima beans, hickory smoke flavoring, crushed tomatoes and the most important ingredient, imo, VINEGAR. I did not like the sweetness that the cream-style corn brought to this recipe. I prefer bags of frozen silver queen corn, baby lima beans. Ultimately, the brunswick stew is VERY thick and peppered throughout with lima beans and corn. It is a strange consistency--not like soup at all. The chicken is so shredded that it is not identifiable as chicken at all. AND, I prefer to cook in the pressure cooker my chicken and chuck roast separately, but in each include the salt, pepper, hickory smoke flavoring, a little Worcestershire sauce, onions. I just happen to like the way the pressure infuses the flavors throughout the meat. I usually remove the chicken from the broth to debone it and add the frozen veggies to the broth in the pressure cooker. AFter the veggies have cooked, I toss in the shredded chicken, beef, & tomato sauce and simmer again--slowly and probably for a couple of hours. As delicious as this is, it is definitely better after being refrigerated overnight, in my opinion. I make large batches and freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
GREAT way to use up that left over Thanksgiving turkey! We made this for the first time last year. We used our left over turkey meat from Thanksgiving. It was fabulous! Hearty & warm, which is what is needed during the cold weather. We also used the suggestions on the corn. Definitely a must keep recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
freaking amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krrutherford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This is incredible. My husband ate three bowls as soon as it was ready. Said he couldn't get enough. I served mine with homemade cornbread. Will definitely add this one to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I made this for the very first time and this recipe is AMAZING! A fall/winter meal classic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Raw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I will eat just about anything, but did not care for this at all. This was my family's first introduction to Brunswick Stew. Thought it would be perfect to take on our cabin hunting trip. Just too much BBQ sauce and too sweet for our taste. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shamokin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fiume Veneto, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States