Gerry's Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
My family enjoyed this recipe and I will use it again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This recipe is just alright. Nothing fantastic. My husband and his friend liked it - but after reading the rave reviews I was disappointed in the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I made this last night. I added fresh cilantro. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harleywine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Thank you so much for posting this recipe! They were so yummy! The chicken has so much flavor and It really wasn't that hard to make. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Delicious, although you can skip the chicken broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I've been making this recipe for a long time now. I absolutely love it. However, you can DEFINITELY simplify it to where it really isn't a chore at all, if you don't mind chopped chicken rather than shredded: 1) dice the chicken 2)saute the chicken in a large skillet 3) dump in all the remaining ingredients and simmer until it is reduced and not too watery. Leave out the broth. 4) build your enchiladas and cook! It tastes just the same as the long method and is super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
We loved these! I didn't change a thing except use whole wheat tortillas. I will be making again for sure. Thanks Gerry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
A delicious recipe!One thing I would add is to lightly warm the corn tortillas in a little bit of oil before dipping them...otherwise they will indeed fall apart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherokeegenie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This was good, but only good. Did not feel it was worth all the effort. I did like the idea w/ soaking the tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: South Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
While I often do not change the recipe much, with this I omitted a few things. I didn't marinate the chicken and I'm glad I didn't! The flavor that the chicken gets from the tomatos, onion, and green chilies is awesome. I also didn't dip my tortillas in heavy cream. When the directions called for Cream of Chicken Soup I was a little worried. I wanted to make a very authentic type of enchilada and that concerned me, but honestly it didn't take away from anything. I do feel it's a necessary ingredient though because it makes the sauce not so thin. As for the sauce, it takes FOREVER to reduce. When adding it to the chicken know that it will not be a 'paste', and truethfully, do you really want a paste?! When putting the sauce in the bottom of the pan I just strained out the tomatoes, onion, and chilies and laid them all on the bottom, then I rolled up the tortilas and poured more of the cooked sauce over them. Why add a pre-made generic tasting 'Enchilada Sauce' when you have this awesome sauce YOU MADE?! I added a small amount just because I bought the stuff, but next time it's a big ol' NO. Very time consuming recipe but VERY VERY WORTH IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenD2006RN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Versailles, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States