Gerry's Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I made this the other night, the only thing I did different was to omit the heavy cream and corn tortillas, we prefer flour. And the marinade I used was a chipotle pepper. They were so delicious! This is my chicken enchilada recipe from now on. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Everyone loves them, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Just made this and it was fantastic. I have never made Enchiladas before. I cooked the chicken all day in slow cooker with 1 can enchilada sauce and 1 can spicy diced tomatoes to give the chicken more flavour. Instead of dipping the tortillas in cream I fried them in hot oil for just 5 seconds a side. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was maybe a tad labor intensive and time consuming but the end result was so worth it. I scaled it up to 8 servings because the package of corn tortillas had 8 in it and we are feeding 5, some of whom are young men who consume massive quantities of food. The "6" inch tortillas seemed too small, I went with the 8 inch. I probably didn't need to scale it up to 8 servings because this recipe produces quite enough filling to OVER stuff 6 tortillas, or adequately stuff 8 - 8 inch tortillas. There was plenty of filling. The only thing I did differently was to add 1 cup of shredded queso fresco to the 3 cups of cheddar cheese, we like things a little cheesier with the queso flair to it. It was perfect. We served it with refried beans and I didn't have time or space on my stove top for the Mexican rice I usually make, but it would have been awesome at soaking up the sauce from the enchiladas. Will make this again, there are some things I can do ahead to make this easier and less time consuming. The end result was completely worth the effort. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
These are so delicious! ... To save time, I sometimes buy a whole roasted chicken from the market and shred it, but anyway you make them, they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D&N Q.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Love these they are really delicious but very time consuming so they are not good for a week night meal. Also needs a lot of prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was an outstanding recipe! The flavor was just so good that everyone had seconds & hubbie & kids took 3rds for lunch today! Thanks Gerry! Now, here's the few changes I made: I was using leftover turkey, so I marinated it in the Rotel & mexican stewed tomatoes all afternoon to give it some zing. I used 4 real small poblano's & forgot the jalapeño (oops). Since I didn't have any cream, I simply heated the tortillas in the microwave between damp paper towels for about 20 seconds. The recipe ended up making a dozen enchiladas with only one leftover. Guess who gets that for lunch!? Thanks again Gerry, it's a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
wow! So yummy. I didn't marinate the chicken but I can't wait to try some of the suggestions on here. It did take a long time for the liquid to reduce.. but I'm glad I didn't alter the recipe at all. It was amazing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This is a tricky one to review. It came out good, but not great. I think the prep and effort involved was not worth the end result and that's why I only rated it 3 stars. I felt there was a lot of steps I could have left out and it would have ended up just as good. I followed the recipe exactly and did not add the optional peppers. If I made this again I would leave out the stewed tomatoes, use flour tortillas just because the corn ones were awful to work with, and season the chicken and/or sauce. Maybe this was stupid of me but I did not drain any of the tomatoes either because the recipe did not specify to do so. I think this may have been why my sauce came out thin and never reduced. So this wasn't great for me but I would attempt it again with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I did a few things different on this recipe to make it my own! I used left over chicken that was seasoned with taco seasoning and then added a chopped red and yellow pepper. I also mixed chopped green onions in the chicken. I also added a bit of the cream and a small brick of Velveeta cheese the chicken. I cooked Spanish rice to it as well. I then filled floured tortillas with mixture and shredded taco cheese. I do have to say that putting the tortilla's in the cream made them so moist and tasty! My whole family loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAR
Home Town: Leadore, Idaho, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States