Gerry's Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I made this the other night, the only thing I did different was to omit the heavy cream and corn tortillas, we prefer flour. And the marinade I used was a chipotle pepper. They were so delicious! This is my chicken enchilada recipe from now on. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Everyone loves them, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Just made this and it was fantastic. I have never made Enchiladas before. I cooked the chicken all day in slow cooker with 1 can enchilada sauce and 1 can spicy diced tomatoes to give the chicken more flavour. Instead of dipping the tortillas in cream I fried them in hot oil for just 5 seconds a side. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was maybe a tad labor intensive and time consuming but the end result was so worth it. I scaled it up to 8 servings because the package of corn tortillas had 8 in it and we are feeding 5, some of whom are young men who consume massive quantities of food. The "6" inch tortillas seemed too small, I went with the 8 inch. I probably didn't need to scale it up to 8 servings because this recipe produces quite enough filling to OVER stuff 6 tortillas, or adequately stuff 8 - 8 inch tortillas. There was plenty of filling. The only thing I did differently was to add 1 cup of shredded queso fresco to the 3 cups of cheddar cheese, we like things a little cheesier with the queso flair to it. It was perfect. We served it with refried beans and I didn't have time or space on my stove top for the Mexican rice I usually make, but it would have been awesome at soaking up the sauce from the enchiladas. Will make this again, there are some things I can do ahead to make this easier and less time consuming. The end result was completely worth the effort. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
These are so delicious! ... To save time, I sometimes buy a whole roasted chicken from the market and shred it, but anyway you make them, they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D&N Q.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Love these they are really delicious but very time consuming so they are not good for a week night meal. Also needs a lot of prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was an outstanding recipe! The flavor was just so good that everyone had seconds & hubbie & kids took 3rds for lunch today! Thanks Gerry! Now, here's the few changes I made: I was using leftover turkey, so I marinated it in the Rotel & mexican stewed tomatoes all afternoon to give it some zing. I used 4 real small poblano's & forgot the jalapeño (oops). Since I didn't have any cream, I simply heated the tortillas in the microwave between damp paper towels for about 20 seconds. The recipe ended up making a dozen enchiladas with only one leftover. Guess who gets that for lunch!? Thanks again Gerry, it's a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
wow! So yummy. I didn't marinate the chicken but I can't wait to try some of the suggestions on here. It did take a long time for the liquid to reduce.. but I'm glad I didn't alter the recipe at all. It was amazing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This is a tricky one to review. It came out good, but not great. I think the prep and effort involved was not worth the end result and that's why I only rated it 3 stars. I felt there was a lot of steps I could have left out and it would have ended up just as good. I followed the recipe exactly and did not add the optional peppers. If I made this again I would leave out the stewed tomatoes, use flour tortillas just because the corn ones were awful to work with, and season the chicken and/or sauce. Maybe this was stupid of me but I did not drain any of the tomatoes either because the recipe did not specify to do so. I think this may have been why my sauce came out thin and never reduced. So this wasn't great for me but I would attempt it again with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I did a few things different on this recipe to make it my own! I used left over chicken that was seasoned with taco seasoning and then added a chopped red and yellow pepper. I also mixed chopped green onions in the chicken. I also added a bit of the cream and a small brick of Velveeta cheese the chicken. I cooked Spanish rice to it as well. I then filled floured tortillas with mixture and shredded taco cheese. I do have to say that putting the tortilla's in the cream made them so moist and tasty! My whole family loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAR
Home Town: Leadore, Idaho, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States