Gerry's Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I have made this recipe for about six families in varying spiciness by adjusting the type and amount of peppers I use. A great marinade is just simply any salsa you have laying around. And I have discontinued the use of the chicken broth due to the fact that it takes a little long to reduce. But, if you like it thinner chicken broth will do the job. This recipe works with flank steak, pork and also lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
The sauce for this enchilada dish was amazing! The only thing I left out was the chicken broth only because my husband has to limit his salt. I didn't even marinade the chicken first. Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianephillips

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Do not use previously frozen corn tortillas as they will fall apart (my mistake). This is a great recipe. You don't necessarily need to "marinate" the chicken, just add the spices you like. And don't be confused where it says fry the chicken 'til brown then tells you to boil it until juices are clear. All he wants is for you to just make sure the chicken is not raw....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gshreve
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
These turned out very good. I followed others suggestions and cooked my chicken breasts whole with the skillet mixture in the crockpot. I browned the chicken in oil but I think it was unnecessary. I shredded the chicken and put the skillet mixture in a sauce pan and cooked on med high to reduce. I also used an immersion bender to purée. It took about 20 minutes to reduce. I was able to get a dozen enchiladas out of my 4 breasts and sauce. Next time I will probably skip the heavy cream step to soften the tortillas and just layer the casserole lasagna style. Served with homemade guacamole, sour cream and Spanish rice. Thanks for a great dinner Gerry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I loved this enchilada recipe. We had a few friends over for dinner and all of them said they were the best enchiladas they have ever had! I used Lawry's Baja Chipotle marinade with chicken breasts in a slow cooker and then shredded the chicken. This was fast and made the chicken very tender and easy to portion into each tortilla. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly and I will absolutely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Broyles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Iowa, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Very good. Finally an enchilada recipe with corn rather than flour tortillas. The only change I made was I didn't saute the onions, rather quickly blanched them where they have a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon R Wagner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This is a messy one! My kitchen looks like a tornado went through it. I added cilantro and used low fat/low sodium ingredients for this recipe. It was very good! I'd make the enchiladas again but perhaps I'll do it in a more streamlined manner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinCooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Excellent and easy. I omitted the green onions and chicken broth and used two chicken breasted marinated in 1/2 packet of taco seasoning for 10 minutes. Next time may add sour cream to sauce mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
There was WAY too much filling for only 6 six inch tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 405) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States