Gerry's Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
These were quite time consuming to make and not that outstanding. I felt they were very heavy and the flavors ended up muddy. I wouldn't take the time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Not really sure why people even submitted negative reviews - or said this dish takes a long time! After the chicken marinades (we use Lawry's Santa Fe), it only takes about an hour to cook, and only 20 minutes (maybe less) of us actually doing anything. It's easy, with simple ingredients, and even though it's all from a can, it tastes great! I've never had a better enchilada, not even an authentic one from a Mexican restaurant. We usually use vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, which, in my opinion, makes it taste about a thousand times better. Thinking of trying this with fresh ingredients! I'm also trying to find a way to make this recipe vegan or vegetarian. Maybe I'll update this when I figure it out!! EDIT: Putting the tortillas in the cream isn't really the best idea, as I've found. Sticking the tortillas in the microwave between two paper towels gets them soft and they fall apart a little less. I've also found that using blue corn tortillas is about a million times easier and tastier. Oh! And! The amount of filling you put into the tortillas for this recipe is way too much. We can make up to 12 enchiladas with this recipe, so I recommend cutting back on the chicken. I would also recommend putting more of the sauce into the chicken to get a more flavorful taste. It doesn't really turn out very paste-like, but it's so delicious, my boyfriend and I can just eat it straight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ruidoso, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I have made this recipe many times and everyone always raves about it. I have made it no less then 4 times and it is awesome every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Absolutely loved this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
flavor great, but not 5 star. made as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: La Center, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is absolutely the best enchilada recipe!!! I have been making it for years. Hubby's favorite! I always marinate my chicken in Mojo first and it is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Awesome for a Sunday night dinner. Great to make as a family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Love this recipe and use it as my "base" when trying different tastes. No matter what I am trying, Gerry's recipe is still 'home'. Wonderful! Best mod I've tried is marinading chicken in Tobasco Chipotle sauce and grilling the chicken. Thanks, Gerry!! Mmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I have made this recipe for about six families in varying spiciness by adjusting the type and amount of peppers I use. A great marinade is just simply any salsa you have laying around. And I have discontinued the use of the chicken broth due to the fact that it takes a little long to reduce. But, if you like it thinner chicken broth will do the job. This recipe works with flank steak, pork and also lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
The sauce for this enchilada dish was amazing! The only thing I left out was the chicken broth only because my husband has to limit his salt. I didn't even marinade the chicken first. Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianephillips

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States