German Zwiebelkuchen (Onion Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Excellent recipe, just like Oma's. My (German) family actually adds the caraway right into the mixture as opposed to on top. My mom likes to omit the bacon, and truth be told I almost prefer it that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celestialjas

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori Schreiner
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I added 1 cup of fried sour kraut and 8 morning star slices of bacon so yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Schreiner
Photo by Beans
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Wasn't sure how to put pie crust in pan, kind of lined it. Other than that it was ok. Tasted good,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Yum! So happy I tried this recipe. It surprised me how much I liked it!! "Cheated" with pre-made pie crust. Modified to use about 3# onions and half of other ingredients. And I spent the time to make the lattice topping...Beautiful. Cooked in less time- I think it was done in about 40 minutes. Definite repeat! Great with soup. Served it with veggie-cabbage soup. Leftovers were great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This was very close to the way I remember it tasting when I lived in Germany 40 years ago. Thank you! I adapted the recipe for my vegan diet, omitting the bacon and substituting mashed tofu for the sour cream. I found one large onion was sufficient for two small pies. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Really liked this though it seemed a little bland / in need of more salt to me. (I notice, however, that no other reviewers thought so...hmmmm.) I halved the recipe and did not make a lattice crust but the top browned nicely, as did the Pillsbury All-Ready pie crust I used in my shallow ceramic tart pan. My out-of-state mom is of German descent (me too, of course, though more Italian than German); wish she lived nearby so I could make this for her. I like to make a few German dishes every year in October, even without having an Oktoberfest; this one will be repeated. Thanks, Bill, for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I thought I reviewed this a couple of yrs. ago but couldn't find it. I didn't use bacon. I cooked some sausage, then cooked the onion with grated apple and mixed it all together before adding to the pie shell. Wonderful fall recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Foster

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
We had Zwiebelkuchen in Germany which was prepared on cookie sheets rather than pie plates. Taking that into consideration when I tried this recipe I calculated it to 6 serving size and rolled the pie crust to fit a 14" pizza pan. This reduced the bake time to 45 minutes. I also omitted the caraway and sprinkled the top slightly with nutmeg and 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese. I will also try this recipe with a pizza crust base rather than a pie crust base just for comparison. It was easy to prepare considering I did not lattice the top of the pie as shown in the photo. It was exceptionally good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Ummmmm. We loved it. I will be making this again. I added 12oz of turkey bacon and halved the recipe.... because thats how I roll. It was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steamboat2kansas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Garden City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I used a 9x13 baking dish to make this. It turned out great. The only changes I made to the recipe were to double the bacon and use about 5 lbs of vidalia onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States