German Sweet Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
This is always a fantastic pie. I never freeze it, though. Instead, I just put it in the fridge. Also, I use an oreo crust and whip up fresh whipping cream with a little powdered sugar and vanilla and mound that on top of the pie. This recipe is actually inside the box of Baker's German Sweet Chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISKELE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
My husband said this pie should be called "Sex In A Pie Shell"....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I used the really large size Mr. Goodbar (probably 8 oz.) in this recipe and light cream cheese. Also, I stored it in the freezer. It didn't last long at my house. This is soooo yummy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Delicious. Fairly easy to make and SUCH a hit. Make two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I have made this pie several times on different occations and every time it has disappeared within an hour or two of it being ready. It is certainly a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
WOW! I have been searching for a good chocolate pie recipe...and yes, this is it! I used dark chocolate chips (what I had on hand). Be sure to save some cream for topping...and next time I will try this pie with a traditional pastry crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Love this pie! I put 1/3 cup of hazelnut coffee creamer instead of milk. It gave it a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was so good and incredibly easy to make which is good because I tend to not be a great baker. I used skim milk, fat free whipped topping and light cream cheese in a reduced fat graham cracker crust and you would NEVER know. It was that good. I have made this twice now and I think that it tastes the best completely frozen but definitely not bad when it has thawed either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This was awesome. I, too, bought a low-fat crust, used skim milk, used Splenda instead of sugar, and used Cool-Whip Free, and reduced-fat cream cheese. No one would have guessed. This pie got rave reviews and I have made it two more times in the past week for everyone who enjoyed it the first time around. Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magoo
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This pie was soooo good-very creamy and super-rich! Instead of the graham cracker crust, I made a chocolate cookie crumb crust. The subtle chocolate flavor of the pie with the crispy chocolate crust was a perfect combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States