German Sweet Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
This is always a fantastic pie. I never freeze it, though. Instead, I just put it in the fridge. Also, I use an oreo crust and whip up fresh whipping cream with a little powdered sugar and vanilla and mound that on top of the pie. This recipe is actually inside the box of Baker's German Sweet Chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISKELE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
My husband said this pie should be called "Sex In A Pie Shell"....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
this was good and SO easy to make. but i'm not sure the graham cracker crust is the best for it. other reviewers may have stated this as well: an oreo crust would work better. or maybe even a regular pie crust? don't know how well that would freeze, though. might be too hard to cut through? i loved how you don't have to bake it either. after putting it in the freezer i kept waiting to go check on it in the oven! :) thanks for a great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magoo
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This pie was soooo good-very creamy and super-rich! Instead of the graham cracker crust, I made a chocolate cookie crumb crust. The subtle chocolate flavor of the pie with the crispy chocolate crust was a perfect combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This was awesome. I, too, bought a low-fat crust, used skim milk, used Splenda instead of sugar, and used Cool-Whip Free, and reduced-fat cream cheese. No one would have guessed. This pie got rave reviews and I have made it two more times in the past week for everyone who enjoyed it the first time around. Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I used the really large size Mr. Goodbar (probably 8 oz.) in this recipe and light cream cheese. Also, I stored it in the freezer. It didn't last long at my house. This is soooo yummy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Love this pie! I put 1/3 cup of hazelnut coffee creamer instead of milk. It gave it a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Let me just say this was THE most delicious and creamiest chocolate pie that has ever touched my lips! It will be enjoyed by my family for years to come. I made two, we are dessert happy people and there are a lot of us, and I wanted to try two kinds of pie crust with it, they both were amazing! Graham Cracker crust and a cream cheese crust (amazing and SO easy!) I recommend a slice of each!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suprmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was so good and incredibly easy to make which is good because I tend to not be a great baker. I used skim milk, fat free whipped topping and light cream cheese in a reduced fat graham cracker crust and you would NEVER know. It was that good. I have made this twice now and I think that it tastes the best completely frozen but definitely not bad when it has thawed either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
WOW! I have been searching for a good chocolate pie recipe...and yes, this is it! I used dark chocolate chips (what I had on hand). Be sure to save some cream for topping...and next time I will try this pie with a traditional pastry crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States