German Sweet Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
A new favorite! A nice rich deep flavor without being too sweet. I saved some chocolate to make chocolate curls on top. The hazelnut creamer sounds like a great idea - I may try that next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This is one of my favorites. I have been making this pie for years and everyone always wants the recipe. I usually double the cream cheese(lite), omit the sugar, and add all of the cool whip(lite) to the mixture. The hazelnut creamer is a good idea. I am a coffee drinker so maybe adding a little espresso flavor would be great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
this was good and SO easy to make. but i'm not sure the graham cracker crust is the best for it. other reviewers may have stated this as well: an oreo crust would work better. or maybe even a regular pie crust? don't know how well that would freeze, though. might be too hard to cut through? i loved how you don't have to bake it either. after putting it in the freezer i kept waiting to go check on it in the oven! :) thanks for a great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magoo
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This pie was soooo good-very creamy and super-rich! Instead of the graham cracker crust, I made a chocolate cookie crumb crust. The subtle chocolate flavor of the pie with the crispy chocolate crust was a perfect combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This was awesome. I, too, bought a low-fat crust, used skim milk, used Splenda instead of sugar, and used Cool-Whip Free, and reduced-fat cream cheese. No one would have guessed. This pie got rave reviews and I have made it two more times in the past week for everyone who enjoyed it the first time around. Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Delicious. Fairly easy to make and SUCH a hit. Make two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was so good and incredibly easy to make which is good because I tend to not be a great baker. I used skim milk, fat free whipped topping and light cream cheese in a reduced fat graham cracker crust and you would NEVER know. It was that good. I have made this twice now and I think that it tastes the best completely frozen but definitely not bad when it has thawed either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I have made this pie several times on different occations and every time it has disappeared within an hour or two of it being ready. It is certainly a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Love this pie! I put 1/3 cup of hazelnut coffee creamer instead of milk. It gave it a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Very good & easy to make. Very rich, I think I was expecting the taste to be a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States