German Sweet Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by M Ocaranza
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I thought this cake was a bit dense for my taste, I'm pretty sure I followed the directions to the T. I did like the flavor of the frosting, but needed to make a double recipe even for this sheet cake. I added the extra chocolate frosting to add some visual appeal as well. I must say, my sister uses this recipe every year for her husbands birthday cake and it tastes devine...so maybe with more practice I will master it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M Ocaranza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
topping is enough for 2 layer cake. had to double topping recipe for four layers. Otherwise, went over well with in-laws!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Disclaimer first: I only made the cake from this recipe, I used the frosting from German Sweet Chocolate Cake III... That said, the cake was fantastic! It's a little crumbly, but it is moist and tasty. I used a little more chocolate, but that was the only change I made to the recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This is the first time I've ever made a German Choclate Cake. This cake is so-o-o delicious ! I'm glad I changed the white sugar to brown sugar called for in the recipe and I doubled all ingredients, toasted the pecans & coconut before adding them into the pot. I will certainly make this again for family and friends , but will make sure there are more people to eat the finished product besides me !! A decadent treat for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
The cake tasted great, but it was crumbly. I didn't use enough spray on the cake pans but the parts that did come out in one piece were crumbly. I had to use a chocolate fudge recipe to hide the fact that it was pieced together. So it was a learning experiance, next time I will use tons of spray on the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I made this cake and it was a huge hit! It is now a regular favorite in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This was easy to make and oh so tasty. I had a hard time keeping my hubby away from the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This cake has a wonderful flavor, but I found it to be much drier than the standard recipe that I've been using for nearly 30 years now. This might be due to the fact that I baked the cake in a 9-x-13 pan. The flavor is very good, but I think that I'll stick with my recipe because it produces a cake that isn't as dry. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
This cake is delicious!! It was very flavoursome and a little crumbly but not at all dry. Unfortunetly it only held its shape before it was cut but it still was so yummy!! My Family and i enjoyed it still slightly warm with a bit of cream and ice cream and all the kids loved it and i heard raving reviews by all the adults. Thanks so much for the fab recipe!! I must admit i couldnt find any german chocolate so i used italian (as suggested) and it was still super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States