German Sweet Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Candy Lady
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
it;s a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Lady
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Delicious cake! I left out the egg whites to have a fudgier cake. Everyone loves it when I make this cake. To add some variety, try making this cake recipe with the recipe for whipped cream cream cheese frosting on this site. I have yet to find someone who is not in love with that combination. It's what I made for my daughter's 1st birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This recipe is amazing...the cake turned out very moist and much better than any german chocolate cake I've ever had...thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kashmir
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is most definitely a five-star recipe, no doubt about it. I made this cake for a friend's birthday, and everyone loved it. People fought over who would get the last piece. The cake was light and moist and nicely chocolate-y, and the frosting was to die for. I melted more sweet German chocolate to use to decorate the top of the cake. I don't even like coconut, but *I* liked this cake. All in all, this cake was a dream, I'm definitely saving the recipe to make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kashmir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Awesome cake! I couldn't find German chocolate, so I used regular semi-sweet chocolate and it turned out just fine. I would be cautious about serving 24 though. Maybe on a dessert buffet with little slivers this would work, but not if it is your main dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I have to give her 5 stars every year. I only make this cake for my husbands birthday. I don't know why!! It is delious!! So much easier than the 3 tier cake I used to make!! LOVES IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I made 3 layers, so adjusted ingredients to 36 instead of 24. Plus, I added 3 more squares of german chocolate with same amount of water. Awesome! This is a very moist cake. Icing took a very, very long time - but worth waiting for. Make sure you allow enough time to get this cake right. It's not the easiest of all cakes -- mainly because of time and number of ingredients, but it looks beautiful and tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I made this cake for my mate's birthday. Not usually in on scratch cakes, but we live in the caribbean, where box mixes are hit or miss on freshness. Great taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anelson825
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I made this for my step-father's birthday. German chocolate is his favorite, whereas my mom and I can't stand it much. We tried this, and I had seconds! It was really that good. So moist, so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anelson825

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Olivehurst, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I made this cake for my mother's 60th birthday. She is a professional baker and difficult to impress - she loved the cake! It was dense and moist and the frosting was excellent. I had to leave the pecans out because my son has nut allergies and cannot even be near them, but it didn't matter. Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAAHN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States