German Sweet Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
per the advice of other reviews I used 6 oz german chocolate squares and cake flour, otherwise stuck to the recipe. I sifted the dry ingredients as well and relied on color/consistency rather than the time provided (12min) for the frosting. Making this cake was time consuming, the frosting especially, but well worth it. everyone loved it. i suggest using parchment paper in bottom of cake pan(s) (i made 3- 9in round layers). The batter has a mouse-like consistency. next time i will make this cake using only 4 chocolate squares, with 6 it was almost too chocolaty but was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msmoemoe
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This cake is soooo good. I made it for the first time yesterday. It was very easy. The only thing different that I did was to boil the water first and I broke the chocolate into pieces and stirred that's it. Please let the frosting set before placing on the cake it makes a difference. Thanks for such a beautiful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Compton, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Oh, my - this is the REAL DEAL. Fairly easy, and absolutely delicious. For some reason, the cake tastes even better after sitting for a few days - if it lasts that long at your house. I don't know why. Maybe the flavors had a chance to blend and mellow out. Whatever the reason, I will DEFINITELY be making this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candy Lady
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
it;s a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Lady
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Delicious cake! I left out the egg whites to have a fudgier cake. Everyone loves it when I make this cake. To add some variety, try making this cake recipe with the recipe for whipped cream cream cheese frosting on this site. I have yet to find someone who is not in love with that combination. It's what I made for my daughter's 1st birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This recipe is amazing...the cake turned out very moist and much better than any german chocolate cake I've ever had...thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kashmir
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is most definitely a five-star recipe, no doubt about it. I made this cake for a friend's birthday, and everyone loved it. People fought over who would get the last piece. The cake was light and moist and nicely chocolate-y, and the frosting was to die for. I melted more sweet German chocolate to use to decorate the top of the cake. I don't even like coconut, but *I* liked this cake. All in all, this cake was a dream, I'm definitely saving the recipe to make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kashmir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Awesome cake! I couldn't find German chocolate, so I used regular semi-sweet chocolate and it turned out just fine. I would be cautious about serving 24 though. Maybe on a dessert buffet with little slivers this would work, but not if it is your main dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I have to give her 5 stars every year. I only make this cake for my husbands birthday. I don't know why!! It is delious!! So much easier than the 3 tier cake I used to make!! LOVES IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I made 3 layers, so adjusted ingredients to 36 instead of 24. Plus, I added 3 more squares of german chocolate with same amount of water. Awesome! This is a very moist cake. Icing took a very, very long time - but worth waiting for. Make sure you allow enough time to get this cake right. It's not the easiest of all cakes -- mainly because of time and number of ingredients, but it looks beautiful and tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States