German Sweet Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by supermom
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This cake turned out Great I got rave reviews on this cake only thing i might say the icing is cutting it close and i only used 2layers vs 3! So i might dble the frosting to give u a lil more but chocolate on top just gave it a extra pretty look and enhanced the cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This was AMAZING. I have never made a scratch cake so good before. I made this for my friend's birthday, and she also agreed that this was the best cake EVER. Since I made in two nine inch rounds to stack, I baked at a slightly lower temp (325) so it would rise more evenly, and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
very dense and rich...a little too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
If you buy the "german chocolate" bar at the store - this is almost the exact same recipe as inside the box. I was hoping that I was trying some NEW recipe than what I have always used - so I was slightly disappointed. It did turn out great as usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This recipe was delicious! I made this for my mother-in-law's birthday and got rave reviews. This recipe is a keeper! I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
The cake is quite good, however if you live at altitude you are going to have trouble thickening the frosting and by the time it thickens it will reduce significantly and you will have barely enough to cover a 2-layer cake. Also, I used cake flour (don't do that), so it was a bit dry, but I fixed that by refrigerating it in a sealed container for 2 days -- moistened it right up. I wish more recipes had directions for altitudes above 3500 feet, as the cake mix boxes do. Incidentally, the correct name for this cake IS German's (not German) Sweet Chocolate Cake. It has nothing to do with Germany.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trista Yancey
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This cake was absolutely delicious! I followed the directions exactly, but baked it in two 9 inch round cake pans and had enough batter left to make 3 cupcakes. After everything was done baking I decided that it would have been fine to put all the batter in the 9 inch pans. I used the number one rated german chocolate cake frosting and followed the directions exactly. This cake was better than any I had ever bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trista Yancey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrangell, Alaska, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
oh yum!!! that is all i can say. i've been looking for a good chocolate cake recipe, and although this one is a bit more work than other versions i tried, it is super delicious! i might try a dark chocolate next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I was afraid to make this cake "from scratch" but it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
WOW, What a cake. I loved it and I am not a cake eater but I made this for a party and I ended up serving it to people that LOVE German Chocolate cake. They said it was the best they've ever had. (and I did not change a thing)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wantagh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States