German Sweet Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
My 12 year old son made this cake twice for a class project. There are a lot of steps but it makes a wonderful cake. We used a 9x13" pan and had to bake it for 50 min at 350 degrees. At 30 min it was still a pool of yummy chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Wow! What a cake! I do have to say that using a 9X13 pan is impractical. The baking time given (30 minutes) is for 2-4 round 9 inch pans, not one sheet cake. As a sheet cake it takes closer to an hour to bake!! The topping is absolutely delicious! I love the Evaporated milk instead of what i've seen in other recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krysta Harder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
If using 9" round baking pans - use 3! This was a little labor intensive, but completely worth it!!!! Love, love, love this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I have been making this cake as well as selling it for over 20 years and everybody loves it. The only change I make is to add the vanilla flavoring after the frosting is made. It has a better flavor and you don't cook out the alcohol. I even decorate my cake the same way except my center has a cherry. I sell this cake in Los Angeles for $35.00 and I may go up another $5.00. In the 80's I sold it for $20.00. Ten dollar increase every decade seems reasonable to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I will use this again. I split my cake and put a small amount of frosting in the middle and there was enough to frost the entire 9x13 cake. I used German Chocolate Cake Frosting II by Carol B on this site and it was very good. The cake took 50 minutes to bake not 30. I followed the directions to a T and will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Great!! Very simple and delicious. I got a thumbs up from all my family members and I followed the recipe exactly... I did however sift the cake flour, baking soda and salt together, used butter eggs and milk at room temp and toasted the coconut and pecans. I would have cooked 3- 9 in. Rounds had I paid attention to a previous review, the cake was over flowing! Thanks for the recipe! My husband loves German Chocolate Cake and I cooked this one special for his promotion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Excellent Cake. Have used this many times..But didn't have the Squares so used Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips, and they melt sooo much faster! And I used a different recipe for the frosting because I don't like the taste of evaporated milk and it used helf and half (found it on this site and her name is Sierra) Total YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I should of never made this, because now I have to make it once a week for the family and extended family!! This is a great receipe paired with the German frosting II!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa1313

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
The cake is delicious and no more time consuming than most German Chocolate Cakes. However, it was definitely not done baking at 30 minutes, at least not in my oven, and the center was liquid. It took between 40-45.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
although i forgot water when melting chocolate and used three 9" round pans i followed the recipe and it was SUPERB. Moist, rich and nice and sweet alright
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States