German-Style Weck Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
Rolls were very good flavor, texture, slices nicely. However the folding into rolls was a bit confusing and I think I would just shape by hand into buns the next time. They held the beef juices well and made a large sandwish. The milk and egg wash really helped the salt and caraway seeds stick well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
My mother is from Germany and it's great to be able to make for her some of the things she misses so dearly. These were awesome and didn't last long in a household with 4 kids! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephany Ogle Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2005
An excellent alternative to flying to Buffalo for weck rolls! You must definitely top the rolls with coarse salt or seeds though! I want a beef on weck sandwich now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Oh, man. I had a WORLD of problems with these. I feel obligated to tell you they were all MY fault, so take this review as a warning not to do what I did. Now, I've got a lot going on this weekend, so I was not giving this anywhere close to the attention I should have been, and that's what caused the most trouble. I dropped the measuring spoon into the bowl of water, sugar, and yeast. If you've ever done the same, you know that the yeast clumps to EVERYTHING, fingers included. I *think* I was able to make up for what came out with my hand and the spoon, but who really knows? Then, I went to beat the egg whites, and in a fit of laziness, I didn't wash the beaters after mixing the yeast water with the first portion of flour. Big mistake, as after 10 minutes on high, they never even made soft peaks. I added them anyway, for lack of eggs to replace them with. At which point I read the next step and, oops. Bread flour? So, I did a little research and learned that all purpose flour could be substitued, but the end result wouldn't have the extra chewy goodness. Figuring everything else that I screwed up already, I used what I had. But I didn't use anywhere near 7 cups. After about 5.5 it just wouldn't take anymore flour. I'm baking it anyway; its on its first rising now, and I'm sure it will be edible. That said, even screwed up, it was a lot of work! I'd love to see the end results of the actual recipe, but I just don't see myself putting in that kind of time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
This is the fourth year I've made these rolls for a gathering of about thirty friends. They're well liked every year. You really need to take almost a whole day to make them from start to finish, so plan ahead. Last year, I got started a little too late and had to skip the last rising, but they still turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Czarna Owca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Very good rolls, I didn't realize until they were done that they are for sandwiches. I was expecting a type of dinner roll. I think I'll make them smaller next time and see how they do. But they are a little crunchy on the outside and so soft on the inside, everyone loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
I tried, really I did, but I couldn't make the rolls look right. They kept turning into a barely recognizable lump of dough when I tried to fold them into the traditional looking weck (or kummelweck for those who know them by their original name). After a while I got frustrated and just formed them into rolls and cut the spiraled look into the tops of them. They tasted good, but they I just couldn't get them shaped right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
Thank you so much for the recipe Holly! I was getting sick of lugging a bag full of weck rolls from Buffalo to Texas everytime I visited. My family who craves beef on weck thanks you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UNTCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
This is the best roll recipe I have ever made, I took these to a party and everyone comented how pretty they were till they all mysteriously disapeard lol they really were the first thing to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
These have a great taste, just like the ones I could get in WI! Watch the raisings, as the dough raised much faster than specified. The eggs whites much be the secret to these authentic "hard rolls".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States