German-Style Weck Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Sonnenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I've been making these for years for my family, and they're a lot of work (so they don't come often) but they're worth it! I usually add 1/2 a brick of aged sharp cheddar cheese to the dough, and then sprinkle more cheese on top after brushing with the egg wash. Cheese buns, better that the grocery store, crisp on the outside, soft on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
You definitely need some time on your hands to make these, or at least some stuff to do around the house during all the rises, but the beautiful results and the taste are worth the trouble. These look fabulous in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
These have a great taste, just like the ones I could get in WI! Watch the raisings, as the dough raised much faster than specified. The eggs whites much be the secret to these authentic "hard rolls".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
My mother is from Germany and it's great to be able to make for her some of the things she misses so dearly. These were awesome and didn't last long in a household with 4 kids! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephany Ogle Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
I have made this recipe twice and my husband and I just love it!! The rolls come out firm enough to hold up to juicy, Italian beef or sloppy pulled pork. It take almost all day to make them, but it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RJSBABE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
This is the fourth year I've made these rolls for a gathering of about thirty friends. They're well liked every year. You really need to take almost a whole day to make them from start to finish, so plan ahead. Last year, I got started a little too late and had to skip the last rising, but they still turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Czarna Owca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
This is the best roll recipe I have ever made, I took these to a party and everyone comented how pretty they were till they all mysteriously disapeard lol they really were the first thing to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
Thank you so much for the recipe Holly! I was getting sick of lugging a bag full of weck rolls from Buffalo to Texas everytime I visited. My family who craves beef on weck thanks you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UNTCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2005
An excellent alternative to flying to Buffalo for weck rolls! You must definitely top the rolls with coarse salt or seeds though! I want a beef on weck sandwich now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States