German-Style Beet Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This "German-Style Beet Salad" is wonderfully delicious! I have to admit though that beets are one of my favorite foods. This was a good, easy, and convenient way to serve them. I had no idea how much "2 bunches of beets" was supposed to be, so I added the caraway seed slowly as suggested by other reviewers to make sure that I did not have too much for the amount of beets that I was using. The next time that I make this salad I will use a sweet onion (or perhaps leave the onion out), and I will definitely be making this again. Thank you CHRISTYJ for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I had 3 good-sized golden beets that needed to be used up, so that was the inspiration for making this recipe today. The single biggest criticism I have is that 2 Tbsp of caraway seeds is way too much, it simply dominated everything. Unfortunately, I couldn't even taste the cloves or horseradish because the caraway seeds overpower even those strong flavors. We ate it chilled and enjoyed it, but would have liked it a lot more with maybe 2 tsp of caraway seeds rather than 2 Tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Nothing wrong with this recipe.... just not my cup of tea, I guess. The beets were beautiful..... My whole family ate them without complaining (though I 'seasoned' them a tad with a sprinkling of sugar). The thing that surprised me was that they seemed to me to be way more like dilled beet pickles than I'd have ever thought. I simply couldn't taste any of the other specific flavors - not even the horseradish - certainly not the cloves. Also, I didn't care for eating the caraway seeds when they were soaked. If I'd grown up with these kinds of foods, or I ate them with a meal that they go well with, I think that perhaps I'd love them, but for me, for now...... I'd have to say.... eh.... okay.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I used EVOO instead of vegetable oil, and used less of it. This tasted too much like caraway. We found it over-powering. This wasn't really for us but I was glad to try it. Thanks christyj
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I took this to a German themed dinner party and was told it was the best thing on the buffet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
easy and good. Roasted the beets for 1 1/2 hr at 300 degrees. Used 1 tspn caraway seed and horseradish mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nilifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Enjoyed the recipe but 2 Tbsp of cumin was way to much. I didn't let it rest as suggested, but was still very flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Very nice recipe. Based on readers' reviews, I made modifications: I diced and roasted the beets. I mixed them with most of the ingredients listed below BUT instead of white sugar, I used a bit of brown sugar and a tablespoon of a blackberry jam. I did not use any oil and I used 1 teaspoon of caraway seeds. My husband and I liked it very much and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I gave this four stars because of the caraway seeds. I used only two teaspoons instead of the two tablespoons. I might even cut it down to one teaspoon. But otherwise the flavor is great. I love the touch of cloves. Never would have thought of using them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Hey, all you newcomers to beets. Please consider what you are working with. Beets...misunderstood & underused. first...I take the time to bake them. (wash them-just get the dirt off) cut off the greens, then remove the vein with scissors. save for later...delicious. 2nd double wrap in foil, bake in a 300 degree oven for 2 hours. cook slower for a longer time. You want them to develop the & draw out the sugar (Heard of sugar beets?) let them cool. remove foil and rub the skin off..put your hands in a plastic bag, use an old washcloth-(you will discard this cloth). I taste them. if they need sweetness I may add brown sugar, raw sugar or honey. Once you have baked your beets, you will never boil them again..use the skin in your compost, or worms or dig a small hole and put them in your garden. The beets at Traider Joes are as awful as December tomatoes. speaking of which, when I need tomatoes for a sandwich in winter, I use canned, drained and blotted dry. They slice well. No one will notice if you have added crisp lettuce and some bacon...a BLT... Try the slow, long cooking for sweet potatoes... but those skins go to me, I just love them baked and caramelized. The worms fend for themselves. It's an acquired taste. experiment, explore and have fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilona

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northridge, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States