German Spaghettini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This was FABULOUS! Easily prepared with ingredients most of us happen to have sitting around the house. Easily customizable for different serving sizes. I admit, I was a bit light on the sugar (only a few tablespoons) and I did add some garlic and onion to the meat I was making it, but still a wonderful easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wolfwyndd
Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Great dish! Very sweet. To cut back on calories I used 93/7 ground beef, reduced fat bacon, and 1/5 lb. turkey Italian sausage. I substituted Splenda for the sugar. To add some more dimension to the flavor I added 1 tbsp of minced onions and 1 tbsp herbes de Provence. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. I made it exactly the way it was written. The sauce had a lot of flavor. I would'nt change a thing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This was a very good meal. We substituted the sugar, canned tomatoes and can of tomato sauce for two 28 oz jars of Paul Newman spaghetti sauce and also used one 16 oz package of Spaghettini instead of 12 oz. We also subsituted Jimmy Dean Hickory Smoked Pork Sausage for the Italian Sausage since we had it on hand. This meal had alot of flavor and was very tastey. Since we used ready made spaghetti sauce we lowerd the simmer time to about 15 mins before backing for 30 mins. Total prep and cook time was less than an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Tis is the best!! Everyone loved it.I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made this to appease the meat lovers in my family. To lower the fat content I used ground chuck, turkey Italian sausage, and reduced fat bacon. 2 tablespoons of diced onion sauteed with meat. I did precook the bacon, but not to a crispy state. I used fire-roasted tomatoes, and a thicker tomato sauce. Sugar was reduced significantly with no detriment to outcome. Followed cooking times and temps to the letter. I received many compliments on this dish. Personally, I felt the bacon flavor was more powerful than it should be. Still, I had a second helping. I am looking forward to my leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geodimon
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, despite feeling like there were some obvious steps missing; such as when and if to chop the sausage and bacon. The sausage was easy enough to chop before serving, but not so the bacon. Some people ended up with a whole slice of bacon in their meal. Next time I will cook the bacon a little first, just to cook off some of the grease, chop it and then add it when the recipe calls for it. I'd still leave it very soft though because the bacon flavour it adds to the dish is wonderful. I thought of maybe taking the casings off the sausage and breaking it up like ground beef, but having the slices of sausage was very nice. This was a very nice change from regular spaghetti and everyone loved it. I'll definitely make it again. Second time making it - I felt like there was too much sugar, perhaps because I used a ready made spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce. Add sugar to taste if using a spaghetti sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I used canned roasted garlic tomatoes and it basically did the seasoning for me. My picky boyfriend even liked it, but we both agreed that it could have used more of the tomaote/meat mix. I didn't even use all the noodles. Next time I will add more bacon and sausage, and maybe more sauce. I made german runzas for a side and it was a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Make this all the time as a side dish using a pound of fried and chopped bacon as the only meat, and adding it in right before serving. Following the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I used bowtie pasta, browned the bacon, browned the sausage and ground beef together and sprinkled with mozarella cheese. Wouldn't add as much sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States