German Spaghettini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
just started making this, checked back to find out what to do with the bacon. i diced it and am browning it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Key

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, despite feeling like there were some obvious steps missing; such as when and if to chop the sausage and bacon. The sausage was easy enough to chop before serving, but not so the bacon. Some people ended up with a whole slice of bacon in their meal. Next time I will cook the bacon a little first, just to cook off some of the grease, chop it and then add it when the recipe calls for it. I'd still leave it very soft though because the bacon flavour it adds to the dish is wonderful. I thought of maybe taking the casings off the sausage and breaking it up like ground beef, but having the slices of sausage was very nice. This was a very nice change from regular spaghetti and everyone loved it. I'll definitely make it again. Second time making it - I felt like there was too much sugar, perhaps because I used a ready made spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce. Add sugar to taste if using a spaghetti sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This was FABULOUS! Easily prepared with ingredients most of us happen to have sitting around the house. Easily customizable for different serving sizes. I admit, I was a bit light on the sugar (only a few tablespoons) and I did add some garlic and onion to the meat I was making it, but still a wonderful easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wolfwyndd
Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Great dish! Very sweet. To cut back on calories I used 93/7 ground beef, reduced fat bacon, and 1/5 lb. turkey Italian sausage. I substituted Splenda for the sugar. To add some more dimension to the flavor I added 1 tbsp of minced onions and 1 tbsp herbes de Provence. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made this to appease the meat lovers in my family. To lower the fat content I used ground chuck, turkey Italian sausage, and reduced fat bacon. 2 tablespoons of diced onion sauteed with meat. I did precook the bacon, but not to a crispy state. I used fire-roasted tomatoes, and a thicker tomato sauce. Sugar was reduced significantly with no detriment to outcome. Followed cooking times and temps to the letter. I received many compliments on this dish. Personally, I felt the bacon flavor was more powerful than it should be. Still, I had a second helping. I am looking forward to my leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geodimon
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. I made it exactly the way it was written. The sauce had a lot of flavor. I would'nt change a thing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Make this all the time as a side dish using a pound of fried and chopped bacon as the only meat, and adding it in right before serving. Following the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I used canned roasted garlic tomatoes and it basically did the seasoning for me. My picky boyfriend even liked it, but we both agreed that it could have used more of the tomaote/meat mix. I didn't even use all the noodles. Next time I will add more bacon and sausage, and maybe more sauce. I made german runzas for a side and it was a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I used bowtie pasta, browned the bacon, browned the sausage and ground beef together and sprinkled with mozarella cheese. Wouldn't add as much sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
I did not have any sausage so I used more bacon. The bacon never crisped up but the bacon gave a great flavor to the dish while it was cooking, so I don't know if it would be better cooking it with the beef or the sausage. My husband was skeptical but he had seconds. Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States