German Spaetzle Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
What a yummy recipe! It's super-quick, uber-easy and downright delicious. I found that by using my ricer, we were able to squeeze out the spaetzle in no time at all. With the medium-sized holes, it came out perfect. Since first reading this, I've made it about 5 or 6 times, as we've both gotten pretty tired of potatoes, and am making it tonight, to go with the Authentic Hungarian Goulash, also found on this site. Great recipe, Holly; thanks so much for sharing! Geez, I love this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
I have never made dumplings before, but these turned out AWESOME! They were really tasty and not bland like some dumplings I have had in the past. Like someone said earlier, I also doubled the recipe because I don't think this recipe would serve 6. Thanks for the recipe, Holly! I will definately be using it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
This was extremely tasty! It's good with parmesan mixed in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
To my surprize this was so easy to make. My husband has been asking me to make this for him . It was something his mother used to make for him. I also made Beef Burgundy and they were so good together. My husband brought the left overs to work for lunch and he said it was better the second day. I will be making this again.Oh ... also, my picky 7 yr old ate the noodles and loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
In keeping with the New Year's eve Italian family tradition of eating lentils for prosperity,I served slow cooker lentils and sausage (also from All-Recipes) over the spaetzle. It was delicious. Frying the spaetzle with butter is a must. Don't be afraid to use the nutmeg; it gives it a great flavor as it tends to be on the bland side. If you are going to the trouble making the dumplings, at least double the recipe (no need to double the butter though). It is great reheated. I quadrupled it so I'd have enough to serve with my saurbraten in a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
This is very similar to my grandma's recipe although she didn't use the nutmeg. One thing she always did was to fry some crushed crackers in butter and top the dumplings with them. This was my favorite dish of her's to eat and wish she was still around to make it. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2000
I thought I was in Germany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2001
I serve these with beef stew. Yummy. Just like my mother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
This recipe was wonderful with our Beef Strogonoff! It was a little tricky to make at first but we got the hang of it fast. One tip is to be careful not to have the strainer/colander too close to the boiling water else it may cook the dough before it goes through - making it a little more difficult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Delicious. I just wonder if the recipe is really for 6 servings. We had 2 servings out if it. And we needed 2 side dishes to make it a whole meal. Other then that, DELICIOUS. Next time we double the batch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States