German Spaetzle Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I use 3 eggs to a cup of flour and milk in order to gave a higher protein content. I cook them, then dehydrate in my dehydrator, and can store indefinitely in a jar. I use a Norpro spaetzle maker I got from Amazon, and it is the the perfect tool. For $10, don't skimp on bad equipment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This recipe is fantastic, I did enhance with garlic powder instead of the nutmeg as I was putting the spaetzle into chicken soup and it turned out wonderfully, just like a remembered from my Dad when he made his infamous chicken soup with little spaetzle like dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina Sipla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
It will whisk you away to Bavaria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I've never had authentic spaetzle, but was making rouladen and it was suggested that it be accompanied by braised cabbage and spaetzle. I thought I'd love it, since it seemed like it was just a kind of rustic buttered noodle. Well, I tried to push the dough through the large holes of a cheese grater - that did NOT work. I actually gave up at that point. I added a ton of flour (as another reviewer suggested) to try to get it to work. One of the guys I was making it for, had made it before and his wife makes it a lot. He did need to thin in out, since I added so much flour, so apparently the consistency initially was more correct. He though the cheese grater idea was ridiculous though. He used a spatula and pushed the dough through the holes of a colander, placed over the pot of boiling water. Toward the end, he just would drop dough in, in a free form fashion. He said it looked just like his wife's. Once it was done, I sauteed the spaetzle in a lot of butter and was thinking it should be delicious. It was....bland. No flavor at all. Even with salt, pepper and parsley, I didn't think it was worth eating much of it. But the guy that helped me said it tasted as it should. Not sure what the fuss was about. I'd go with buttered egg nooodles or mashed potatoes in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I didn't mind this recipe it was really easy to make and to follow, but I found they were a bit heavy not a fluffy as I have had before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I thought this was perfect! The flavor was very nice and the consistency was perfect for running through my spaetzle maker. Although, I would agree with some previous posters that, this does not make 6 servings - we got 2 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Most like the noodles they serve with Sauerbraten at the Slavic restaurant; also most like the noodles my husband's grandmother made by hand to go with chicken paprikash. She was from Hungary, and was a great cook by all accounts from the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Very nice and delicate - having with pot roast :) The timing is off, tho, you should remove them when they float to the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Esposito

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Excellent recipe. I used a potato ricer with the larger holes. Easy stuff. (In the restaurant biz we use a perforated hotel pan.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Was very good added a little twist with Garlic powder to add more taste, is very good with AuJu sauce from a prime rib roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States