German Spaetzle Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
My BF and I have been looking for the perfect Spaetzle recipe and I don't think this is it. We found it too heavy and too much nutmeg. I like the 'Spaetzle I' recipe on this site much more (using milk instead of water and adding just a little nutmeg).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Made this with red cabbage and jagerschnitzel. It turned out ok for me, but next time I want to add something to give it an extra bit of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Excellent! I used 1/2 whole wheat flour, so needed to add about 1/4 cup of water since it absorbs more liquid. This dough was thicker than I've made in the past, which was good. I use a potato ricer, and it means that the spaetzles held together well. I cook 1/3 at a time, fish them out with a strainer, and then when all are cooked, saute them in butter and then salt & pepper them liberally (I double the recipe, so it takes at least 2 batches to fry up; they would all get gummy in the saute pot at once). LOVE spaetzle! It's always great with German-type food like sausages with cabbage sauteed in the sausage pan with some s&p and a splash of balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This recipe is top notch. My fiancee and I, who have both been to Germany, agreed that this is exactly what we remembered and expected. The nutmeg really makes this recipe complete. I would say that getting the dough into the water can be a bit of a challenge because it is very sticky. I ended up pulling out chunks with a fork. The pieces were a little big, but that's okay. The dish was GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Made this with a traditional polish dish. substituted onion salt for salt and added 1/2 tsp of garlic powder. You can use either more flour if too soup or more milk if too stiff, just depends how you like your spaetzles delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I maade this after not being able to find the recipe i've been using for years. This was better in taste and texture. We loved it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeneen Skewes Pylant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Delicious! Here are some tips that might help first-timers: 1. Don't skip the nutmeg. I was skeptical, but it really works in this recipe. 2. I added two exta tablespoons of flour to thicken the batter/dough. 3. Bat the eggs and milk together and add it all at once. 4. Sray a colander and a rubber spatula with Pam and use that to extrude the dumplings. 5. Boil the dumplings in chicken broth instead of water. I doubled the recipe and used a 32-ounce can of broth. The dumplings absorbed all the broth. 6. Melt a stick of butter in a skillet. Dump the spaetzle in and "stir fry" it for a minute or so. 7. I added parmesan cheese to the spaetzle after I buttered it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charley Joe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I made this today, it was great and I'm thinking it's a good base recipe. I think next time I'll add some green chili's and cumin and serve mixec with roasted garlic and Mexican cheese. I also used a potato ricer and it seemed just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Very good and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Not much flavor, i followed this to the T. Did not really like the taste of the nutmeg, although being that I was very hungry I ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Totorica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States