German Spaetzle Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Delicious recipe, I added some black pepper and paprika with some sauteed onions and garlic and 1/2 cup cheddar melted and topped with some parsley and it came out great! I also used a potato ricer that had a larger metal plate which worked perfectly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pramiti Singh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Great recipe! As authentic as it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Great tasting recipe. I have a bowl full of cold water and ice on stand by when making these. Once they come up to the top, they are ready to be taken out and shocked in the cold water to keep the firmness. Ate mine with some sauteed onions and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Ciura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I would have given this 5 stars if it had a proper amount of flour in the recipe! I followed the recipe exactly and the batter turned out very runny. I added an additional cup of flour and it was absolutely perfect, and the flavor was amazing. And I know good spaetzle because I recently spent six months in Germany.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcvh93

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Having never made spaetzle before I wasn't sure how the dough was supposed to be, except for the video. Mine looked nothing like the video. It got all stuck in the whisk so I added another 1/4 cup milk and it still didn't resemble what it did in the video. I used a ricer and tried to do what I've seen on tv, cut it off as I was squeezing it into the boiling water. It came out in big clumps. I thought for sure it would be a fail but I stirred it with a knife of all things and in the end it looked the way it should. It worked pretty well with the goulash I prepared. All that said, I think I'll stick with my roots and making pasta! Thanks for sharing MARBALET!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
As written this is good. I had to use a lot more flour than it called for to get the right consistency. Also, it is much better to add some crushed garlic to the butter before you saute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Made these for dinner to go with my red cabbage recipe and some pork chops and gravy. They were so very easy to make and so delicious, as good as any I've eaten in Germany! Had no idea how easy it would be to make good spaetzle and now I know I will make them again and again. I just had to add a little drizzle more milk to make them the right consistency to easily go through my spaetzle maker. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
We tried this tonight. I added butter and chicken bullion to the water. I don't have a large colander nor a spaetzle maker, so I took a slotted spoon and pushed the dough through with a spatula. I make jagersnitzel with mushroom gravy and my husband poured that on his second helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Thank you StickySue for your wonderful advice today on the Buzz. Because I didn’t have a spaetzle maker, StickySue recommended I take a plastic bag and punch 6 to 8 holes in it with a clean knitting needle or pen; spray the inside of the bag very lightly; put the dough into the bag and squeeze into the boiling water slowly. They came out perfect! We thought they made an excellent side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
My 8 year old son ADORES this recipe, he says it's his favorite food. We all love it, especially when tossed with freshly grated parmesan. It's perfect as-is, and it freezes very well (if you make a double batch and freeze half for a quick weeknight meal).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarlyIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States