German Spaetzle Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Well, this recipie was my first making spaetzle and turned out better than my husband's who is first generation German. Although the taste was a bit off to me and the ones that come in a bag from the grocery store are much better in my opinion. Thanks for the recipie though, fun experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
oh my lord i'd give you a 100 stars if i could!! thank you it was perfect! i dont have the Spätzle maker so i just tied a coliander or that thing to my pot and push the dough through. it worked perfectly. . thank you so so much ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I have tried making spaetzle with a couple other recipes and it never came out quite like this. the nutmeg makes all the difference. white pepper probably would be good too but i never remember to buy it... anyway. i used a pasta straining spoon to make it. it works but its kind of a pain but works in a pinch. it also came out dense and perfect enough. i would have salted the water and will next time because i had to add salt to the finished product. this is a winning recipe for a pretty basic dish... me likey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline Senouci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I cut the milk in half: 1/8 cup. Then add a bit more milk tablespoon by tablespoon until its willing to drip from a spatula. Boiled until they float up, which is one minute. The result should be pieces 3/4-1" long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swiss Frank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Excellent recipe. These Spaetzle are light with a beautiful nutmeg fragrance. I served them with Pork Goulash. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Bissoon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I had never made spaetzle before. I was a little hesitant about adding that much nutmeg, so I halved it. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I did not care for it. But I can see it is very easy to over cook this. I had trouble dropping it into the water. Lot of work and easy to screw up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This is my go to Spaetzle recipe. The texture is great and it's as flavorful as you are ever going to get boiled batter. I pair it with Chicken Paprikash and it's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
After watching the video I question the amount of milk used. Her dough is more like pancake mix; however, the recipe ingredients make a very firm dough which is hard to push through the spaetzle maker and produces very tough dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geri schmidt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I used salted water to cook the Spaetzle as you do in Germany. I followed the recipe but had to add another splash of milk. I used a Spaetzle lid, put it on when you're ready to start making the dumplings or it will cook on the lid. Great flavor and not mushy at all, even after browning it. Next time I will double the recipe so we have some for lunch the next day. This is going into my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Badgeman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States