German Spaetzle Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
When making spaetzle, you can add almost anything to the batter to flavor the dumpling. Add dry mustard, thyme, rosemary, nutmeg, or any other spice or herb you prefer to compliment whatever the dumpling is accompanying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I'm sure this is good,i make a similar family recipe with less ingredients,however,the one yummy missing thing to try for extra flavor is try throwing in breadcrumbs,i use Italian style for more flavor when u are frying them in butter,it makes all the difference and is extremely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I learned to make Spaetzle from a German lady many, many years ago. Instead of forcing the batter through a sieve, she picked up batter in a teaspoon and then with another teaspoon pushed small bits into a boiling potato soup. She called it Button Soup and her kids loved it - so did I. You just make a standard potato onion soup with ham chunks and before adding cream, you drop in the little buttons of batter and let them cook. Finish off by adding cream. Boy is it hearty and good on a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Inexpensive and filling add grilled chicken for a great meal for the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Worked out great but added a couple more teaspoons of flour. Maybe my eggs were bigger than the original recipe uses. Sauteed in butter with sauerkraut and caraway with a hint of salt - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Best recipes for German Spaetzle I have had yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I made this following the recipe plus adding extra flour like CookingMaMa suggested. It was wonderful!!! I sauted the spaetzle in butter with onions and a bit of garlic. It tasted just like Germany. Thanks for a great recipe and review. Sam2oona
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam2oona

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
too sticky! I had to keep adding flour so it ended with no real taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Foster
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Good recipe, made it three times now. I replaced the milk with water to loosen it up. Also I now feel the spaetzle maker is a MUST. got tired of burning my hands using a colendar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I love this recipe as it is different from my family's Schwabisch recipe. Quick idea: with left over spatzle, We add a little oil to the skillet, brown the spatzle just a little, add an egg or two scramble into the mix add any kind of deli meat, leftover meat or bacon top off with grated swiss cheese...my kids LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States