German Spaetzle Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This is a keeper...made it on the spur of the moment for a change from the regular potatoes. It was quick, easy and turned out perfect...just like in a restaurant, I couldn't believe I haven't tried sooner. Not enough to try as leftovers. Next time I will double the batch. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lakelady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I really like this Spaetzle. The Nutmeg was a nice touch. I put this in a Pea Soup that I made. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Fernando, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I made these to go with chicken paprikash, so left out the nutmeg - wasn't sure how that would blend with the main dish. I tripled the recipe, but only used five eggs and 1 1/4 cup milk because others said it was runny. It really didn't matter if the dumplings were shaped like spaetzle, so I used two teaspoons - scooping up dough on the tip of one and scrapping it off into the pot with the back of another. Worked great. Would definitely add more pepper and other seasonings as they were a little bland tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I use 3 eggs to a cup of flour and milk in order to gave a higher protein content. I cook them, then dehydrate in my dehydrator, and can store indefinitely in a jar. I use a Norpro spaetzle maker I got from Amazon, and it is the the perfect tool. For $10, don't skimp on bad equipment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This recipe is fantastic, I did enhance with garlic powder instead of the nutmeg as I was putting the spaetzle into chicken soup and it turned out wonderfully, just like a remembered from my Dad when he made his infamous chicken soup with little spaetzle like dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
It will whisk you away to Bavaria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I've never had authentic spaetzle, but was making rouladen and it was suggested that it be accompanied by braised cabbage and spaetzle. I thought I'd love it, since it seemed like it was just a kind of rustic buttered noodle. Well, I tried to push the dough through the large holes of a cheese grater - that did NOT work. I actually gave up at that point. I added a ton of flour (as another reviewer suggested) to try to get it to work. One of the guys I was making it for, had made it before and his wife makes it a lot. He did need to thin in out, since I added so much flour, so apparently the consistency initially was more correct. He though the cheese grater idea was ridiculous though. He used a spatula and pushed the dough through the holes of a colander, placed over the pot of boiling water. Toward the end, he just would drop dough in, in a free form fashion. He said it looked just like his wife's. Once it was done, I sauteed the spaetzle in a lot of butter and was thinking it should be delicious. It was....bland. No flavor at all. Even with salt, pepper and parsley, I didn't think it was worth eating much of it. But the guy that helped me said it tasted as it should. Not sure what the fuss was about. I'd go with buttered egg nooodles or mashed potatoes in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I didn't mind this recipe it was really easy to make and to follow, but I found they were a bit heavy not a fluffy as I have had before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I thought this was perfect! The flavor was very nice and the consistency was perfect for running through my spaetzle maker. Although, I would agree with some previous posters that, this does not make 6 servings - we got 2 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Most like the noodles they serve with Sauerbraten at the Slavic restaurant; also most like the noodles my husband's grandmother made by hand to go with chicken paprikash. She was from Hungary, and was a great cook by all accounts from the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States