German Spaetzle Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Better than one I have uses for more than 40 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Used the potatoe ricer to add to boiling water. Sautéed like directed but not sure there was a benefit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
GREAT recipe! I usually have to add a bit more flour to get the tacky dough, but it comes out BEAUTIFULLY! My husband likes this better than our favorite german restaurant haunt. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This recipe was very good, however the 'Most Helpful Critical Review' caused me to add more flour thinking it was supposed to be thick. This made a huge dough ball instead and I could not figure out how to get it through the sieve to make the dumplings. After fighting with different methods, I had to pull the dough apart by hand. I HIGHLY recommend watching the video, because I realized the critical review was NOT helpful at all! :( Will make this again, omitting the terrible review I followed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This was great! I'd never made or even tasted spaetzle before. After cooking it, I fried it with diced bacon and onion. LOVED IT! I'll be making it again soon. Thanks PaulaB for the flat cheese grater tip. That worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jo
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I have never heard of Spaetzle before I just happen to come upon it looking for another recipe. When I saw the pictures of it, it looked so good I had to try it. I didn't have nutmeg so I made it without it, and added bacon as suggested. I really enjoyed it! I think this will be my new comfort food. Next time I will l try it with the nutmeg. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
The only reason I'm giving this two stars is the attached video. The recipe as written doesn't look anything like the batter in the video. It was too thick and lumpy. I'm not sure what other reviewers were doing that said it was runny. I had to add more milk just to get it mixed. The amount of nutmeg was WAY too much. There are much better recipes out there. The old German lady who taught me to make this years ago didn't measure it was all how the batter looked. She also taught me it was done when it floated which is about 1 minute not 5-8
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Melt butter & bacon fat, saute chopped onions til soft.add spaetzle & saute till warm. Add grated cheese (1 cup or more) swiss cheese till melted.can add bacon pieces, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Odessa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
The addition of the nutmeg is fabulous! Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Being a PA Dutchy and also surprised that the general PA Dutch... in Lancaster and Berks country really don't make it and the recipe is not in the usual PA Dutch cook books (not even E.E.Heller's... I discovered this recipe a long time ago. It is exactly the same as the one I've used but with the addition of nutmeg. I like that. Usually, I saute` onions in the frying pan with the butter till they are caramelized then I toss the Spaetzle in. Thanks for this... I also like the suggesion to us with Beef Stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr Bob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States