German Spaetzle Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This recipe is top notch. My fiancee and I, who have both been to Germany, agreed that this is exactly what we remembered and expected. The nutmeg really makes this recipe complete. I would say that getting the dough into the water can be a bit of a challenge because it is very sticky. I ended up pulling out chunks with a fork. The pieces were a little big, but that's okay. The dish was GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Made this with a traditional polish dish. substituted onion salt for salt and added 1/2 tsp of garlic powder. You can use either more flour if too soup or more milk if too stiff, just depends how you like your spaetzles delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I maade this after not being able to find the recipe i've been using for years. This was better in taste and texture. We loved it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeneen Skewes Pylant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Delicious! Here are some tips that might help first-timers: 1. Don't skip the nutmeg. I was skeptical, but it really works in this recipe. 2. I added two exta tablespoons of flour to thicken the batter/dough. 3. Bat the eggs and milk together and add it all at once. 4. Sray a colander and a rubber spatula with Pam and use that to extrude the dumplings. 5. Boil the dumplings in chicken broth instead of water. I doubled the recipe and used a 32-ounce can of broth. The dumplings absorbed all the broth. 6. Melt a stick of butter in a skillet. Dump the spaetzle in and "stir fry" it for a minute or so. 7. I added parmesan cheese to the spaetzle after I buttered it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charley Joe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I made this today, it was great and I'm thinking it's a good base recipe. I think next time I'll add some green chili's and cumin and serve mixec with roasted garlic and Mexican cheese. I also used a potato ricer and it seemed just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Very good and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Not much flavor, i followed this to the T. Did not really like the taste of the nutmeg, although being that I was very hungry I ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Totorica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
If you don't have a spaetzle maker, do it the way my Grandma from Bohemia taught me: just hold the bowl over the boiling water and use a spoon to scrape off a bit of dough directly into the pot, dipping the spoon in the water between each scrape to prevent sticking. I still make spaeztle this way but use a big measuring cup with a handle now. These dumplings are essential in chicken paprikash. Never added the nutmeg, milk, etc. Just eggs and water. Kel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
When making spaetzle, you can add almost anything to the batter to flavor the dumpling. Add dry mustard, thyme, rosemary, nutmeg, or any other spice or herb you prefer to compliment whatever the dumpling is accompanying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I'm sure this is good,i make a similar family recipe with less ingredients,however,the one yummy missing thing to try for extra flavor is try throwing in breadcrumbs,i use Italian style for more flavor when u are frying them in butter,it makes all the difference and is extremely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States