German Schwenkbraten Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
It was very close. I think there was a tad more red pepper than I remember. Still very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Thank you! I've been haunted by the blissful memory of this dish for twenty five years. I am quite sentimental when it comes to food. I too was stationed at Bitburgh AB. Bitte ein Bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I just made this very dish. I, too, remember smelling the schwank bratten grilling every summer weekend in Germany. My recipe differs in spice though. I use paprika, parsley,pepper and garlic powder; also I do not use curry or mustard. And, I put it in the fridge for 3 days. I received my recipe from one of the guys grilling at the BX at Ramstein. I am going to use the onion in foil touch from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
The main thing missing is SALT! Not during the marinading process, mind you, it would dry out the meat, but for sure before cooking it! Also, the onions are too over powering, the way they are prepared. My suggestiion for anyone looking for something similar would probably be to make a rub with the spices, season the meat well, then cover with the onions (they tenderize), then salt and cook the meat. If you still want to cook up the onions, you can season to your individual taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
We spent 4 years stationed in Germany (Bitburg) and loved eating schwenkbraten! We have wished we could have some ever since! This is a fabulous recipe! My family loved it!! I can't wait to make it for company! As far as authenticity goes, this tastes exactly like the schwenks we had in Germany. PS I served it to company with "authentic German Potato Salad" and they raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Never heard of this before but, super glad we tried it because, it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
My husband and I met in Germany. We have been thinking about this for 20 years. I am so happy to find this recipe! I am hoping it is the real deal. I have to disagree with the previous post about curry as I was eating curry wurst on a weekly basis in Germany 20 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by care625

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mohnton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Well, we thought this was really tasty. We had thick pork loin chops, so didn't grill them or serve on buns. Instead, we put them in the oven along with all the marinade, covered, for about an hour and a half. We did replace 1/2 cup oil with 1/2 cup beer, just to cut calories a little. Served with baked potatoes and veggies, it made a great, easy weeknight dinner. We cut up the leftover pork, simmered with the remaining pan juices, and served it over egg noodles for a super-quick leftover dinner. A little pasta water and flour slurry made the pan juices a little more gravy-like. Flavors were fabulous! Hubby has already requested this for next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Schwenk was our favorite at cookouts when stationed at Bitburg AB Germany. We've made it twice now. Once with boneless pork loin chops and seasoned as indicated. Once with sliced pork tenderloin and only hlaf of the curry. Family and friends have raved about this dish both times. The chops were a little tougher than ideal, but still very good eats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was pretty darn close to what I remember when I was in Germany for 4 years, real tender and flavorful but not as strong as the real thing, still real good though. Prost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States