German Sausage Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this, it was really yummy and hearty on top of it. To avoid it being too watery we used one can of chicken broth, and about half as much evaporated milk. Also we used cheddar cheese which waas cheaper. It came out really well, our only complaint was that there was too much cheese sauce left at the end- we felt (as college students) like that was a big waste. Would use less cheese next time for sure. Great with garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Wonderful recipe. I made it exactly as the recipe is the first time, and I liked it okay...but the second time, I used shredded cheddar/monteray jack blend cheese instead of swiss, and added a can of rotel tomatoes, and a can of cream of mushroom, believe it or not...really liked it (for me and the family's taste) much better. Thanks for the ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I thought this chowder was awesome. I sauted 2 cloves of garlic and two chopped onions. Then I added the potatoe, sausage and cabbage to the pot. I used one 48 oz. can of chicken broth and simmered for about 30 minutes. Then added the cheese and milk and lots of fresh ground pepper and thickened it a bit. The swiss cheese gives it a great flavor. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This was a good recipe. The only thing I didn't like was that it didn't freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FREAKITIKI97

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This was okay-- a bit watery, but also rich from the cheese. Just didn't quite find a balance for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Everyone in my family (kids included) LOVED this recipe! I only made a couple of changes: I added another pound of kielbasa and sauteed it with a few cloves of chopped garlic. I also added another cube of bouillon and a can of chicken broth with the water. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Prosperity, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This is a great wintertime recipe! I used bratwurst instead of kielbasa (sliced and browned before adding to the pot), but everyone took seconds and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
This chowder turned out PERFECT I didn't read the reviews until just now, but it was wonderful. They only thing I did different was add instant mashed potatoes (butter flavor) instead of whole potatoes, and because my boys like them I threw in some carrots. All 3 kids (3,4,&7) ate more than I expected, and hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This is really yummy comfort food. I didn't have potatoes so I used egg noodles instead. I will dice the sausage next time and put the shredded cheese on top (it was gummy mixed in the soup) but otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
After reading the recipe and the rewiews, I thought this would turn out bland, so I added 6 bouillon cubes (I realized there was way to much water for only 3 = flavorless). I substituted cheddar for the swiss cause that's what I had and I added a touch of cajun seasoning for a little kick. This soup was really delicious, but it made SO much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States