German Sausage Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I made this on a nippy night for supper and it was great. I used Chappell Hill Pecan Garlic Smoked Sausage and 1 T. Penzey's toasted granulated onion. Used chicken broth to boil the green cabbage & gold potatoes. Forgot to buy cheese at the store, so no cheese was added, and the recipe was still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NTexas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I made this for a german feast and everybody loved it! I took someone else's advice from another review to make a cheese sauce before adding it to the rest of the soup. I just made a little bit of rue, added the evaporated milk and melted the cheese and when it was all melted, I added it to the rest of the soup. It came out great and there were no problems with the cheese getting gummy or not mixing well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aruff
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
very good soup one of the family favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
My second son was born on Halloween and we have celebrated his birthday every year with trick or treating and a family costume party. This recipe over the years has become a family tradition and a tasty way warm up after gathering the neighborhood treats. I do occasionally make personal changes, but ultimately a wonderful tradition with some Sour dough bread..If you add a couple tablespoons of flour or some corn starch it will thicken the broth for more of a chowder effect. I add garlic, parsley and a few spices and occasionally a pinch of Cheyenne it gives it a delightful kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
A great way to get your family to eat cabbage. This reminded me of a "Cream of Cabbage" chowder. I added a bouillon cube for every cup of water I used. I also used garlic salt and white pepper for the salt and pepper. Finally, I used the very finely shredded cheddar cheese. I added the cheese a little at a time (maybe 1/4 cup at a time) and stirred until it melted before I added more. The cheese melted pretty quickly so this didn't take very long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Really good! I used fresh polish, it didn't specify, and I prefer fresh to smoked. Take note, this soup is gassy, don't eat too much if you are in a no-fart zone for the next 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Hans

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Very, very good. I didn't change a thing we loved it! Perfect for a cold late autumn dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Very tasty dish. I know maybe I shouldn't reveiw unless I made it according to the recipe, but I'm going to anyway, so here's what I did. I sauteed the sausage, added the onions and sauteed a little more, added the cabbage and sauteed a little more. Also, I love to cook my soups with wine, but that didn't seem right with this, so I added half a bottle of a harvest beer along with chicken broth and finished the recipe as written. Both kids liked this a lot, as did I, and I'm having the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I have to try this! A german friend of mine once made me something similar but instead of onions she used finely chopped leeks, and no cheese. Was fragrant and deeeelicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Pretty good but a little expensive for a potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kemmerer, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States