German Sausage Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I made this on a nippy night for supper and it was great. I used Chappell Hill Pecan Garlic Smoked Sausage and 1 T. Penzey's toasted granulated onion. Used chicken broth to boil the green cabbage & gold potatoes. Forgot to buy cheese at the store, so no cheese was added, and the recipe was still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NTexas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I made this for a german feast and everybody loved it! I took someone else's advice from another review to make a cheese sauce before adding it to the rest of the soup. I just made a little bit of rue, added the evaporated milk and melted the cheese and when it was all melted, I added it to the rest of the soup. It came out great and there were no problems with the cheese getting gummy or not mixing well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aruff
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
very good soup one of the family favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
My second son was born on Halloween and we have celebrated his birthday every year with trick or treating and a family costume party. This recipe over the years has become a family tradition and a tasty way warm up after gathering the neighborhood treats. I do occasionally make personal changes, but ultimately a wonderful tradition with some Sour dough bread..If you add a couple tablespoons of flour or some corn starch it will thicken the broth for more of a chowder effect. I add garlic, parsley and a few spices and occasionally a pinch of Cheyenne it gives it a delightful kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
A great way to get your family to eat cabbage. This reminded me of a "Cream of Cabbage" chowder. I added a bouillon cube for every cup of water I used. I also used garlic salt and white pepper for the salt and pepper. Finally, I used the very finely shredded cheddar cheese. I added the cheese a little at a time (maybe 1/4 cup at a time) and stirred until it melted before I added more. The cheese melted pretty quickly so this didn't take very long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Really good! I used fresh polish, it didn't specify, and I prefer fresh to smoked. Take note, this soup is gassy, don't eat too much if you are in a no-fart zone for the next 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Hans

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Very, very good. I didn't change a thing we loved it! Perfect for a cold late autumn dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Very tasty dish. I know maybe I shouldn't reveiw unless I made it according to the recipe, but I'm going to anyway, so here's what I did. I sauteed the sausage, added the onions and sauteed a little more, added the cabbage and sauteed a little more. Also, I love to cook my soups with wine, but that didn't seem right with this, so I added half a bottle of a harvest beer along with chicken broth and finished the recipe as written. Both kids liked this a lot, as did I, and I'm having the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I have to try this! A german friend of mine once made me something similar but instead of onions she used finely chopped leeks, and no cheese. Was fragrant and deeeelicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Pretty good but a little expensive for a potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kemmerer, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States