German Sausage Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I used this recipe as the first dish I served at a recent backyard Octoberfest. My friends couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NATHAN SIMMONS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bend, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Thank you for this super easy, delicious recipe! Had all the ingredients on hand except for the swiss cheese, so I used a blend of cheddar and monterey; it did not come out lumpy at all! I was expecting it to be a little thicker and creamier, though, but it was fine. The potatoes broke down a little and "thickened" it. Served it with a side of corn bread for dinner. Hearty and delicious, my boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
The cheese adds a nice flavor and makes the dish more exciting than my similar recipe. The cheese has to be added when the pot is simmering lightly or when turned off, because if you have the pot boiling away, you will get cheese goo!! The cheese melts best when it starts out at room temperature, not cold. I always brown the sausage first in the soup pot, and then the onion, because it adds a layer of flavor. If there is too much grease for your taste after browning the sausage and onion, you can remove it with a paper towel before the liquid is added. I also add a can of diced tomatoes, with juice, but that is because I like the combo of cabbage, potatoes and tomatoes with the cheese. Thanks, this is a great winter warmer-upper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
I used an extra chicken boullion cube--wished I had added celery (maybe sauteed it w/ onion first) Was a terrific soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Moye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
This is an awesome chowder! I happened to have knockwurst on hand, so I used it instead of kielbasa and used the cheddar cheese and we loved it! Next time I'll use the kielbasa and I can only imagine that it'll be even better. Thanks for sharing an excellent recipe, Allie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallsington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
The entire family gave this one a "10"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Very tasty. Don't let how it looks when it's cooking - once you add the cheese it tastes great. Smells great when it is cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
I thought this was very tasty, my fiance didn't like the cabbage. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFSHEETS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
This soup was DELICIOUS! I used chicken broth base instead of water and bouillon. Also added garlic powder, salt, and pepper to taste (more than a pinch). We liked it a lot and I definitely plan on making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This is great. My husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States