German Sausage Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
The cheese adds a nice flavor and makes the dish more exciting than my similar recipe. The cheese has to be added when the pot is simmering lightly or when turned off, because if you have the pot boiling away, you will get cheese goo!! The cheese melts best when it starts out at room temperature, not cold. I always brown the sausage first in the soup pot, and then the onion, because it adds a layer of flavor. If there is too much grease for your taste after browning the sausage and onion, you can remove it with a paper towel before the liquid is added. I also add a can of diced tomatoes, with juice, but that is because I like the combo of cabbage, potatoes and tomatoes with the cheese. Thanks, this is a great winter warmer-upper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I used this recipe as the first dish I served at a recent backyard Octoberfest. My friends couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NATHAN SIMMONS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bend, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I made this for a german feast and everybody loved it! I took someone else's advice from another review to make a cheese sauce before adding it to the rest of the soup. I just made a little bit of rue, added the evaporated milk and melted the cheese and when it was all melted, I added it to the rest of the soup. It came out great and there were no problems with the cheese getting gummy or not mixing well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aruff
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I crumbled the sausage and cooked before starting. I read the reviews while the vegetables were simmering. After seeing that most thought it was watery, I took out 3-4 cups of the broth. I turned down the heat so it wouldn't be boiling when I added the cheese, and added it slowly, but it still got clumpy. It was really tasty, but still more watery than a chowder should be. I will use these ingredients again, but maybe make a cheese sauce to add instead of the cheese alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I thought this chowder was awesome. I sauted 2 cloves of garlic and two chopped onions. Then I added the potatoe, sausage and cabbage to the pot. I used one 48 oz. can of chicken broth and simmered for about 30 minutes. Then added the cheese and milk and lots of fresh ground pepper and thickened it a bit. The swiss cheese gives it a great flavor. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
This soup was DELICIOUS! I used chicken broth base instead of water and bouillon. Also added garlic powder, salt, and pepper to taste (more than a pinch). We liked it a lot and I definitely plan on making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Really good! I used fresh polish, it didn't specify, and I prefer fresh to smoked. Take note, this soup is gassy, don't eat too much if you are in a no-fart zone for the next 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Hans

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
This chowder turned out PERFECT I didn't read the reviews until just now, but it was wonderful. They only thing I did different was add instant mashed potatoes (butter flavor) instead of whole potatoes, and because my boys like them I threw in some carrots. All 3 kids (3,4,&7) ate more than I expected, and hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This is really yummy comfort food. I didn't have potatoes so I used egg noodles instead. I will dice the sausage next time and put the shredded cheese on top (it was gummy mixed in the soup) but otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I added too much water at first and took some of it away while the cabbage was cooking. The sausage lacked a little bit of flavor, but I will try a spicier sausage next time. The chowder still turned out a little bit too runny, but when we reheated the left overs the next day it was absolutely perfect. My fiancee loved it. One of his favorite dishes now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAXIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walldürn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States