German Sausage Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I used this recipe as the first dish I served at a recent backyard Octoberfest. My friends couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NATHAN SIMMONS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bend, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Well, the potential for great flavor is definitely here, so I'm not giving up on this one yet. However, there has got to be a better way to incorporate the cheese so that you don't have goops of it in a rather watery broth, which is what happened for me. Also, you need more than a "pinch" of salt to bring out the flavor in this soup. Was hoping for a velvety-textured soup with the cheese well incorporated. A swiss fondue recipe I have suggests adding a bit of lemon juice so the mixture comes together better--tried it here with no results. Ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This was very good. I will definitely make it again. I think I used a little too much water in mine. I also got distracted by a visitor and cooked the potatoes and cabbage way too long. But it still turned out good. I definitely needed more than a pinch of salt. And the swiss cheese was a bit stringy, but I loved the flavor. Hubby enjoyed it too. GREAT cold weather meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Thank you for this super easy, delicious recipe! Had all the ingredients on hand except for the swiss cheese, so I used a blend of cheddar and monterey; it did not come out lumpy at all! I was expecting it to be a little thicker and creamier, though, but it was fine. The potatoes broke down a little and "thickened" it. Served it with a side of corn bread for dinner. Hearty and delicious, my boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Has potential but too watery and the Swiss did NOT blend at all. It STUCK to everything in globs, definitely NOT like a chowder. I it would have tasted better if the onions and Kielbasa were browned in soup pot first to add flavor. It sounded good but too expensive to experiment with this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
The cheese adds a nice flavor and makes the dish more exciting than my similar recipe. The cheese has to be added when the pot is simmering lightly or when turned off, because if you have the pot boiling away, you will get cheese goo!! The cheese melts best when it starts out at room temperature, not cold. I always brown the sausage first in the soup pot, and then the onion, because it adds a layer of flavor. If there is too much grease for your taste after browning the sausage and onion, you can remove it with a paper towel before the liquid is added. I also add a can of diced tomatoes, with juice, but that is because I like the combo of cabbage, potatoes and tomatoes with the cheese. Thanks, this is a great winter warmer-upper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I added too much water at first and took some of it away while the cabbage was cooking. The sausage lacked a little bit of flavor, but I will try a spicier sausage next time. The chowder still turned out a little bit too runny, but when we reheated the left overs the next day it was absolutely perfect. My fiancee loved it. One of his favorite dishes now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAXIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walldürn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
I used an extra chicken boullion cube--wished I had added celery (maybe sauteed it w/ onion first) Was a terrific soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Moye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Very Tasty. The kind of sausage you use will make all the difference. Used less water than what it called for and half the swiss cheese. Also used non-fat evap milk. Was thin but very good. Had shredded red cabbage available and used it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
Didnt have much flavor. It was ok, but wont make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States