German Sausage Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
It was excellent. I can tell that the potential is there to turn this dish into a five-star offering. Spice it up and experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONWHITE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This is great. My husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I crumbled the sausage and cooked before starting. I read the reviews while the vegetables were simmering. After seeing that most thought it was watery, I took out 3-4 cups of the broth. I turned down the heat so it wouldn't be boiling when I added the cheese, and added it slowly, but it still got clumpy. It was really tasty, but still more watery than a chowder should be. I will use these ingredients again, but maybe make a cheese sauce to add instead of the cheese alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
This soup was DELICIOUS! I used chicken broth base instead of water and bouillon. Also added garlic powder, salt, and pepper to taste (more than a pinch). We liked it a lot and I definitely plan on making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
I followed this recipe exactly. I thought it smelled good while it was cooking, but ended up throwing away most of it. My husband and 2 kids complained that it was watery and bland and would not eat it. I would not make this recipe again as written, but I wonder what would make it better--definitely more seasonings, and maybe a cheese sauce base to make a smoother, thicker chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
I thought this was very tasty, my fiance didn't like the cabbage. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFSHEETS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Very tasty. Don't let how it looks when it's cooking - once you add the cheese it tastes great. Smells great when it is cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
I like all of the ingredients but put together didn't do much for me. The cheese did not work out well either. Not likely to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
The entire family gave this one a "10"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
This is an awesome chowder! I happened to have knockwurst on hand, so I used it instead of kielbasa and used the cheddar cheese and we loved it! Next time I'll use the kielbasa and I can only imagine that it'll be even better. Thanks for sharing an excellent recipe, Allie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallsington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States