German Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Good tasting bread and pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Use more rye flour for a MORE rye-ish flavor if you like. I made a 1/2 recipe, and followed it as written, but for the addition of 1/2 a cup additional rye flour (1 1/2 c total for 1/2 the recipe). I did not cut the yeast amount down much, I used 2 teaspoons (almost a packet). I also added a heaping tablespoon of vital wheat gluten. Made one large round loaf, on a pizza stone. Very nice recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
My husband is from Germany and he likes it! It's a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Made it to the letter and it turned out AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Remi
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I made this bread but followed other reviews. I used 24oz of Sam Adams Chocolate bock beer in replace of most of the water. Also I only had stone ground rye and whole wheat white flour in the pantary witch made this bread very dense. I think if I would have added more yeast then what was called for it would have turned out a little better. But, I will be trying this recipe again, it has great flavor. Now off to the store to get the right flour. Okay! I still used the stone ground rye flour. I went and bought AP flour. I also followed another review and used 1.5 packets of yeast instead of just a .25 packet. I still used 24 ozs of dark beer and it really gave it nice flavor. I made this bread for a polish Easter soup. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This recipe was not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Made this exactly as written and it is as good as it gets. I added caraway seeds because I think they take rye bread "over the top" goodness. The house smelled great for the entire day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This bread is awesome but I was very upset that at first glance it looked like entire time to make was 1 hr. I new this had to be a guesstimate since I've made bread before, but I was shocked when it said the initial set up time was 4 hours. I couldn't make it for the dinner party I had planned. The entire prep time should read about 5.5-6 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by druidfaerie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This makes a lot of bread, and I'll most likely cut this recipe in half next time. I made one long and two round loaves, and formed some of the dough into rolls. Next time, I'll make some hamburger rolls (I think a burger on a rye bun would be great). The bread has a nice crust, but a very light interior, just what I wanted. I'm a novice yeast bread baker, and I was very happy with this way this recipe turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Delicious! Hardy but not too heavy. Very good plain or lightly toasted with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States