German Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Good tasting bread and pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Use more rye flour for a MORE rye-ish flavor if you like. I made a 1/2 recipe, and followed it as written, but for the addition of 1/2 a cup additional rye flour (1 1/2 c total for 1/2 the recipe). I did not cut the yeast amount down much, I used 2 teaspoons (almost a packet). I also added a heaping tablespoon of vital wheat gluten. Made one large round loaf, on a pizza stone. Very nice recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
My husband is from Germany and he likes it! It's a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Made it to the letter and it turned out AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Remi
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I made this bread but followed other reviews. I used 24oz of Sam Adams Chocolate bock beer in replace of most of the water. Also I only had stone ground rye and whole wheat white flour in the pantary witch made this bread very dense. I think if I would have added more yeast then what was called for it would have turned out a little better. But, I will be trying this recipe again, it has great flavor. Now off to the store to get the right flour. Okay! I still used the stone ground rye flour. I went and bought AP flour. I also followed another review and used 1.5 packets of yeast instead of just a .25 packet. I still used 24 ozs of dark beer and it really gave it nice flavor. I made this bread for a polish Easter soup. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This recipe was not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Made this exactly as written and it is as good as it gets. I added caraway seeds because I think they take rye bread "over the top" goodness. The house smelled great for the entire day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This bread is awesome but I was very upset that at first glance it looked like entire time to make was 1 hr. I new this had to be a guesstimate since I've made bread before, but I was shocked when it said the initial set up time was 4 hours. I couldn't make it for the dinner party I had planned. The entire prep time should read about 5.5-6 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by druidfaerie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This makes a lot of bread, and I'll most likely cut this recipe in half next time. I made one long and two round loaves, and formed some of the dough into rolls. Next time, I'll make some hamburger rolls (I think a burger on a rye bun would be great). The bread has a nice crust, but a very light interior, just what I wanted. I'm a novice yeast bread baker, and I was very happy with this way this recipe turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Delicious! Hardy but not too heavy. Very good plain or lightly toasted with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Seitz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States