German Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I have been making Rouladen for years, from a recipe my mom brought from germany. the only way hers is different is that she added finely chopped carrot to the inside of the rolls and of course made a fabulous gravy from the broth and drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Ostroff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ridgeley, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This recipe is very close to the one my mom made. This was the first time my husband and his friend had Rouladen, and they both loved it. I followed the ingredients quite closely, but did make a couple changes in how I prepared it: 1. I pre-bought rouladen cut steaks from the butcher. 2. I minced the onion and 1/2 a jar of pickles (1 jar seemed way too much) and diced the bacon, and mixed it all in one bowl. 3. I added Dijon mustard to the filling until it was relatively creamy, then spread it evenly on each piece of beef. 4. I added reduced salt beef broth instead of beef cubes and water, and baked them for about 90 minutes at 325. I then removed them from the pan and made a gravy with the juices, then served them with the gravy over the rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Never had this before, But it turned out picture perfect and tasted wonderful! Even the kids liked it. Made it exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
We used flat breakfast steaks instead of flank steak, because we're poor. It was a tiny bit tough, but I don't know if flank steak would have been better. We definitely didn't need that much onion. And we're glad we read a review that suggested making gravy - it wouldn't have been as good without gravy. But anyway - really good, and totally worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Bradley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Flavor is good but baking them is better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Westsluvfood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
My family recipe is quite similar..after i brown the rouladen I make a brown gravy to simmer them in . I add pickle juice to the gravy to add more flavour and of course sour cream at the end. Then serve over spaetzle. I also make a meatball version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Yummy - we loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This is a good basic starter recipe. There should be salt and white pepper sprinkled on both sides of meat after pounding thin. Traditionally the meat used is beef shin, but is hard to find outside of a good butcher's. An alternative to the bacon is a chunk of smoked Gouda cheese. I sear mine in salted browned butter and cook in same pot. Add water and cook on medium heat with peppercorn and bay leaf for 2 hours. Remove peppercorn and bayleaf and add beef bouillon. Cook for 2-3 more hours on medium low. Use cornstarch and water mixture to thicken gravy after removing roulades. I serve mine with rotkohl ( red cabbage) and potato dumplings. This is how my Moms in West Berlin made them when I was growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Have make for yrs. A German lady friend/coworker made this for us as a treat and we were hooked !!I buy breakfast steaks. I use Dijon mustard , chop small the pickles, add onion , beef broth and always have noodles and mashed potatoes ready !!! Family fav
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States