German Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I felt this came out dry and the flavors didn't quite mix. I've never had rouladen, so I guess it's just not my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Oh wow! Just like when I was a kid (or dare I say maybe even better?) Only change was to thicken the sauce with flour, add a couple dashes of Worcestershire sauce, and a few spoons of sour cream. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I don't use butter but Crisco, it makes such a wonderful gravy. After the Rouladen are sauteed to tender, put them on a warming plate and thicken the gravy with a bit of flour or potato starch, bring to a short boil, reduce heat, put the Rouladen back in and keep all nice and warm until you serve with sweet and sour red cabbage and either boiled potatoes or Spaetzle (the Southern German noodles).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Abbbbbbbbbbbsolutely sensational....yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I've had this recipe saved for a long time and decided that tonight was the night for German food. This was a very good recipe. But I have to admit that I couldn't bring myself to use bouillon cubes and water and instead subbed in beef broth. In addition to the onions, I added some finely chopped mushrooms. I did let this all sit and marinate for the day in the fridge and then had my daughter put it in the oven covered for 2 hours at 300. Once done, I did thicken the gravy. Served with german Spaetzle. Really good and will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
The flavor of this dish is awesome! Mmm! Everyone loved it! The only things I would change next time is to use cooking string to tie it instead of toothpicks because it was a pain to roll. I also used thick cut bacon and would use thinner bacon next time because it didnt fully cook. OMG so good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was really good. Instead of the beef bouillon, I used a package of Knorr's Sauerbraten gravy mix that a friend got from Germany. We had it with red cabbage, applesauce, and barley cooked in beef broth. Thank you for a nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
great dish, family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
As a child we always looked forward to this meal - still one of my favorites. It takes a little work but is so worth it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
i make rouladen a different way,im from Nuernberg here 42 years,no pickle,substitute bacon ,for the leaner canadian Bacon,and add Portabella sliced Mushrooms instead of the pickles,fry Mushrooms before rolling them into the meat,also i spread Brown mustart on the beef,and use london broil for the rouladen,thinly sliced by butcher,1thick london broil inch makes 4 rouladen ,Gravy i add 1 beef boulion cube from knorr.all other ingrediance are the same and i cook them in the oven at 350,turning alot to brown,and use drippings for gravy,add cornstarch to thicken to taste and seved with red cabagge and Potato Dumplings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Chef John's Beef Rouladen

Discover one of the simplest stuffed meat recipes Chef John knows!

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States