German Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is a delicious recipe...definitely worth 5 stars - but I make mine a bit different and I actually like my recipe a bit more. I use the same ingredients other than the pickles. I use relish instead. I always cook my bacon first - I like crunchy bacon - I also roll my thin steak around a hot dog or sausage with all of the fixings next to the hot dog. I cook mine stovetop to brown, then add a touch of water to start making my own gravy then I add a jar of Franco-American Beef Gravy and let that simmer for awhile. I always serve this dish with potato dumplings or spaetzle. Delish, my families favorite! We just HAVE to have the Hebrew National hot dog in the center though...I was a bit lost without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessFalcone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mystic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
To the ingrediants inside each roll, add tomatoe slices. Season with Salt and pepper. Brown each roll in the butter before simmering in the water and bouilon bath. Make a rue at the end, add a little milk and add to the pot. This is the gravy. Serve with Mashed Potatoes and Red Cabbage. This is the traditional German way of making this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Unless I missed reading something this recipe is missing a very important component, the gravy. While the meat is simmering, add a bay leaf to the broth. At the end of cooking time discard the bay leaf. Prepare gravy by using brown gravy mix or flour. I grew up in Germany. My Dad made the best rouladen! Good gravy is absolutely essential to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
very good, made for german man, he liked said only thing he would do is add little tomato paste with mustard and little paprika. lazy so once browned added to slow cooker with broth and a pkg of onion soup mix and left on high for 5 hours. can't wait to make again.. not sure if I will do the tomato paste thing though as they were so good as they are. I didn't thiken gravy this time but will next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammanug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This recipe is awesome! It tastes just like the rouladen my mom used to get from the German deli for special occasions! There is a wonderful balance of flavor between the vinegar pickle and the smokey bacon, and then you have that wonderful gravy to go with it. The first time I made it, I cut the meat myself - it tasted right, but the meat was too thick. If you do try this recipe, I recommend you do what I do. I buy a London broil (when it is on sale) and I ask the butcher to cut it for me, lengthwise, 1/4" thick. It makes this recipe soooo easy. (And inexpensive). I have made this recipe many, many times, and nothing about it needs to be changed. Most of the people I have served this to have never heard of Rouladan, but they always love it! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I made this recently and my husband raved over it. We have had this in a German restaurant and this is just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I felt this came out dry and the flavors didn't quite mix. I've never had rouladen, so I guess it's just not my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Oh wow! Just like when I was a kid (or dare I say maybe even better?) Only change was to thicken the sauce with flour, add a couple dashes of Worcestershire sauce, and a few spoons of sour cream. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States