German Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I always use smoked sausage spears instead of bacon. It disappears but flawors the Rouladen wonderfully, and adds less fat. This is the first time I've put onion in the rolls, but I think it's a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Just wonderful. Only change made was to cut the bacon into half inch pieces before spreading in roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellefontaine, Ohio, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Great flavour, easy to make. Mine didn't hold together well though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Very yummy! The only thing I do different is cook the bacon partially to get rid of some of the grease and I tie them with kitchen string.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
DELISH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I lived in Germany for 9 years and this recipe is quite authentic. I loved it. It is VERY important that you don't skimp on the mustard... it will make a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as posted and it was delicious! One thing I'm going to try next time is replacing the salt with celery salt. 5-Star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mariposa, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
really great. added a little four to the broth at the end to turn it into a gravy. it was a good finishing touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ghidoni
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Excellent! I was hesitant at first to cook with pickles, but very impressed with the outcome! My husband spent some time in Germany and was also impressed. I did substitute cube steak and added chopped onion, bacon and pickles to the sauce and thickened it a little with flower as well like a few people suggested and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Absolutely DELICIOUS! My mother makes these. Tips: Ask the butcher to cut some thin cut round steak for you. Most butchers never heard of rouladen and will cut it too thick, so tell them to cut it VERY thin. Not as thin as a cold cut, but close to it. Also, don't use toothpicks if at all possible. The meat sticks to the toothpicks and your rouladen will fall apart when you try to yank the toothpicks out. Best are metal mini skewers, 2 - 3 inches long, I found mine at a yard sale, perhaps they were for hors d'vours originally. Or tie the rouladen shut with a couple rotations of string. In the center, the onions and raw bacon needs to be finely chopped. Then low heat, and in addition to the suggested beef bullion cube, add some corn starch to thicken up a good gravy. Use a covered pot, one that's about 3" deep. I have an excellent one that has a glass lid and a thick metal bottom for even heat. This is the primo German dinner, top of the line!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States