German Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This was taught to me by a German immigrant friend. Every person seems to have their own twists but the basics are the same. I will agree that pan drippings are essential! Sear the meat well then roast. I sautéed added onion and bacon in the pan first, remove then add the rolls. No need for boiling them if you toss your oven worthy pan in the oven. The mustard and pickles make the meat super tender. The pan-dripping gravy is the best! And military ladies your commissary butcher already knows how to cut flank for roulade if unlike my local comm it's not already packaged that way. I also use string vs toothpicks- much easier to remove after cooking. A flour based roux from the pan is best. My husband and son go berserk for this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
My grandma was German and I was born in Germany and my Dad had three tours there. My grandma passed a recipe on to the woman who gave birth to me (I wouldn't call her my mother since she never really was) and the woman who gave birth to me called it pigs in a blanket. Instead of rolling the bacon inside she made the Rouladen with the bacon on the outside. Very good recipe, ty for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terrytheterrifyc
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
My boyfriend lived in Germany for 20 years and loved this recipe. Is already begging to have it again. I was put off by the pickle at first but it really adds a touch to it. Saving this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elko, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
We used 3 Oxo cubes, about 2 tablespoons of Bisto gravy granules and flour and water to thicken the gravy once we had taken the rolls out of the pan. The key is to concentrate on thickening the gravy after you have removed the rolls. Otherwise this recipe is as good as any we have had in any local German restaurant. We had it with the German potato salad you will find on this site which was spot on as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Really enjoy this with potatoes. Didn't have pickles so just eliminated them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
It was okay. I really liked it but the recipe im used to has gravy. Other than that, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kjanhsen
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
My husband, who like many in Texas is of German descent, requested that I make this dish. It was a favorite his grandmother would make on Sundays….and wow, is the recipe good! Per the suggestions of other reviewers, I added Lipton's Beefy Onion Soup Mix to the sauce while the meat cooked. Then added a Thickening Paste (3 TBS Corn Starch and 1/4 Cup Water) to the gravy after I'd removed the meat to rest to make it a bit heartier. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjanhsen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This was a winner at our house. Will be doing it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Fantastic recipe! Reminds me of the Rouladen I've eaten in Germany many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
If there is any left, this recipe gets better and better on Day 2 and Day 3. Just make sure that you have enough gravy so it doesn't get dry. It is also a great make ahead recipe and reheated the next day, even to serve to company. We cook it in a covered pan in the oven with chunks of potatoes and carrots on top and then it is a complete meal. It is getting somewhat difficult to find meat counters where they will slice the beef and some no longer even have slicers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Chef John's Beef Rouladen

Discover one of the simplest stuffed meat recipes Chef John knows!

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States