German Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I LOVE THIS!! IT IS SOOOOO GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Ok I just made it I used thick sliced bacon but I did not cook it at all. I read most of the reviews on here,I did ever thing I chopped up the onions that were left over very small and a half of pickle and spread it in the beef, broth low sodium beef broth, I used 1 can and I spread some stone ground mustard I bought at the store called inglehoffer original stoneground mustard that is all I could find in Delavan WI. I hope the bacon cooks and dose not make a lot of grease in the juice ? My child neighbor where from Czechoslovakian, and she made it for me, her sause was a mustard color and she served it with dumplings. And I remember it form this day it was soo back then, I hope I made it as good as she did. I also got dill pickles kosier style I hope and pray to god my kids like it and I also hope it turns out good I am cooking it in a small Dutch oven, I am cooking it in the oven on 250 so the meat is nice in tender. I will let everyone know how it all turns out.I will rate this after I eat it and I will let everone know how my kids liked it there in there early 20's fingers crossed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This is the right and best recipe for Rouladen. The pickles give the gravy the wonderful taste. Here in St.Louis,Mo the German butcher G&W cuts the right beef for Rouladen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I love this dish, but my grandma made it with Skirt Steak which is expensive, but well worth it. I use saved bacon fat to brown the rolls and leave out the pickle. I will post my recipe to show how my family made this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Yum! Followed recipe exactly but was short on time so instead of simmering for an hour, I pressure cooked them for 7 minutes . Turned out as I remember them and had dinner on in 30 minutes. Also tried them with black forest ham instead of bacon (what I had on hand). That was good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I have been making Rouladen for years, from a recipe my mom brought from germany. the only way hers is different is that she added finely chopped carrot to the inside of the rolls and of course made a fabulous gravy from the broth and drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Ostroff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ridgeley, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This recipe is very close to the one my mom made. This was the first time my husband and his friend had Rouladen, and they both loved it. I followed the ingredients quite closely, but did make a couple changes in how I prepared it: 1. I pre-bought rouladen cut steaks from the butcher. 2. I minced the onion and 1/2 a jar of pickles (1 jar seemed way too much) and diced the bacon, and mixed it all in one bowl. 3. I added Dijon mustard to the filling until it was relatively creamy, then spread it evenly on each piece of beef. 4. I added reduced salt beef broth instead of beef cubes and water, and baked them for about 90 minutes at 325. I then removed them from the pan and made a gravy with the juices, then served them with the gravy over the rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Never had this before, But it turned out picture perfect and tasted wonderful! Even the kids liked it. Made it exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
We used flat breakfast steaks instead of flank steak, because we're poor. It was a tiny bit tough, but I don't know if flank steak would have been better. We definitely didn't need that much onion. And we're glad we read a review that suggested making gravy - it wouldn't have been as good without gravy. But anyway - really good, and totally worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Bradley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Flavor is good but baking them is better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Westsluvfood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States