German Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This really turned out great! It was super fun to make. I had a lot of onion left over so I just threw that in with the beef boullion. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
My husband thought it was the "bomb" I thought it was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
excellent flavors, I used flank steak and pounded it out thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abengus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This is a GREAT recipe. I didn't have flank steak, so I used cubed steak, Never do that. It was good, texture was not so appealing. I will try thick sliced Roast Beef next time. I also used to cans of Beef broth rather then the bouillon cubes. Made an awesome gravy for the Spaetzle. MMMMMM good. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Ok, this is marvelous. Want to make it even easier? If you have a hispanic market or carniceria near you, buy carne ranchera (the same meat used for carne asada) and bypass slicing the flank steak, because that is what carne ranchera is: Thin sliced flank steak. Then this is a snap to put together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Well, it's been 8+ years since my first review of Ron's recipe as "DRBONES". And I'm sure he hit a home run based on how many folks saved the recipe! It's been very interesting, over the years, reading all the variations that have been posted. Some of which I'll try. I'm sure variations exist regionally. Local, and known to me, Chef Hans...grilled? I'll give it a shot for sure! And to the individual that stated never to use sandwich steaks, you've never been broke. ;) Growing up, my German family, new to the US, had little money. And sandwich steaks, at that time, fit the budget. Nowadays, they're expensive! These sandwich steaks that we now use ARE NOT STEAK-UMMS or whatever they're called. Keep the new ideas flowing folks...I'm still cooking....and better than ever! Thanks again Ron for keeping the old traditions alive!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I found that this recipe worked well taste-wise, but for some reason the bacon didn't cook when I followed the recipe as written. I had to improvise, which meant that the meat got a bit dry and over-cooked. Maybe it was just my experience?? Next time I think I'd do it in a slow-cooker. Otherwise, pretty good recipe... thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This recipe was very good. The pickles overwhelmed the flavor of the dish, but it certainly had a distinct flavor not typical of American cuisine. I prepared this with two sides: Chris's Kraut and Spaetzle II, both found on this site. The only thing I did different is that I pulled the rolls out of the sauce and thickened the sauce with a roux of butter and flour to make a thicker gravy. I wanted the gravy thick to go over the Spaetzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Guy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Had made this years ago and wanted to have it again. Thanksto Allrecipes.com you can find these quaint old recipes. It was just as good this time as in the past. Made it in the pressure cooker to have it very tender. I wound up slicing mine onto extra wide egg noodles and served with sauce made from the juice and added a dolop or two of sour cream on top. For just my husband and I , it was a hit ..but it's one of those dishes that you make only once in awhile when you want to recall tastes from the past like ourselves. It was very good served too with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizee
Home Town: Grosse Ile, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Makes me fell so content and happy best german dish ever on scale 1-10 (1 being horrible)...10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States