German Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Great recipe. Added fresh garlic, mustard and worchesterdshire to the beef broth and some sliced onions too. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
My nana is from Austria and this is her specialty. I was pleased to find that this is almost exactly like hers. We've altered ours to taste (like omitting the pickles, tenderizing the steaks, and halving the width of the strips to about an inch to inch and a half). I also do up mine in the crockpot for 6-8 hours on low (or 4-5 hours on high). God bless the germans for this awesome creation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lufbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethel, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Good receipe. I used tenderized roundsteak that I flattened even more with a tenderizer hammer. I spread a little dijon mustard, garlic powder nad black pepper on each strip of meat before putting on the bacon and onion and rolling up. My family does not like dill pickles, so I omitted them. I used a can of beef broth with some garlic cloves and bay leaf as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
THanks for sharing this recipe! It passed the test of my Oma. We had this for Christmas dinner and it was awesome. Some variations I did based on comments here and researching other recipes: We used top round, instead of flank steak at the recommendation of my butcher. It was cut for me scallopini style. I used grass fed beef. I also used organic beef broth instead of bouillon. I sauteed finely chopped onion, celery and carrots with the roulladen and included it in the simmer sauce. I also deglazed the pan with pinot noir. OMG what a smell!!!! I chopped the pickles fine, so that the bacon, onions and pickles were all the same size. I used turkey bacon (we have people who cannot eat pork in the family). By deglazing the good brown stuff with the wine after browning the rouladen, I was able to get the dark rich sauce I remembered my Oma making. I also made mine one day before and then slowly reheated them. I used cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I used toothpicks on some, and string on others to secure the rolls. Both ways worked. I ran out of dijon and used yellow mustard on half. I really could not tell the difference. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I made a few changes after reading other reviews.I added horseradish along with the mustard on each piece,also used a can of beef broth in place of the beef bouillon.I fryed bacon and onion then put it on.rolled and browned then placed in crock pot for 2hrs.Delicious.....don't forget the pickle...I served this with Chris' Kraut,recipe found on this site... ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Fantastic!!! a little hard to roll but that is because we put alot in the meat...fabulous recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This was a splendid dish. I did add one thing; gravy! Straining the broth then thickening with a little flour and water I smothered the meat with the gravy prior to serving ...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
very good..but different, i was concerned we wouldn't like the pickles in it, but they actually add great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This recipe was pretty simple and tasted great. I slightly altered the recipe and used dijon mustard because I could not find the German stone ground mustard, I used sweet relish instead of dill pickles, and used garlic powder in place of onions. I then thickened the gravy with a little bit of a cornstarch and cold water mix. Served it with potato pancakes and appleasuce. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I am very disappointed in this recipe. I have used my mother's recipe for years and thought I would try something different, but shouldn't have. My mother's recipe is the best I have ever eaten. Since we are German this has always been my favorite dish. You should be using spicy German mustard, peppered bacon, chopped onions. Brown in skillet then let cook in crockpot for at least 2-3 hours until tender. Very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States