German Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
very good..but different, i was concerned we wouldn't like the pickles in it, but they actually add great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This recipe was pretty simple and tasted great. I slightly altered the recipe and used dijon mustard because I could not find the German stone ground mustard, I used sweet relish instead of dill pickles, and used garlic powder in place of onions. I then thickened the gravy with a little bit of a cornstarch and cold water mix. Served it with potato pancakes and appleasuce. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I am very disappointed in this recipe. I have used my mother's recipe for years and thought I would try something different, but shouldn't have. My mother's recipe is the best I have ever eaten. Since we are German this has always been my favorite dish. You should be using spicy German mustard, peppered bacon, chopped onions. Brown in skillet then let cook in crockpot for at least 2-3 hours until tender. Very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
My mom made a very similar recipe while I was growing up. Now my husband loves this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
My husband made this for us not too long ago. I was really leery of trying it. Who had heard of pickles wrapped in meat?!? I waited until after my husband and our 6 kids tried it -- they loved it! Then, when I tried it, I could see why!!! I am making it again tonight, and will many more times in the future! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This receipe is right on the mark! I had a german friend make me rouladen several years ago and I was recently craving it. Tried this receipe and it was exactly what I was looking for! You can change it up to your liking but I think it is perfect as is! Thank you for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This really turned out great! It was super fun to make. I had a lot of onion left over so I just threw that in with the beef boullion. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
My husband thought it was the "bomb" I thought it was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
excellent flavors, I used flank steak and pounded it out thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abengus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This is a GREAT recipe. I didn't have flank steak, so I used cubed steak, Never do that. It was good, texture was not so appealing. I will try thick sliced Roast Beef next time. I also used to cans of Beef broth rather then the bouillon cubes. Made an awesome gravy for the Spaetzle. MMMMMM good. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 71-80 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States