German Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was a very good recipe...I changed it a little. First I didnt use pickle because my family would have had a coronary if i tried to feed them a pickle....though i have made it that way before for myself and liked the pickle in there. I added crushed garlic to the onion and bacon...and rolled the rolls in flour mixed with salt and pepper before browning. Also I sauteed onion and garlic and added some rosemary and a bay leaf just before adding the water and the bullion....i used better than bullion as well. At the end before serving I made a pan gravy and replacd the rolls into the gravy and served with mashed potatoes and corn....made a good hearty and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillerinbott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Industry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This was really good and the gravy had a nice distinct flavor to it. I served this with German potato pancakes, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatstick

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Harrisburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Oh my gosh! This is soo good! I also added the Lipton Beefy Onion soup. And I added sour cream to the gravy too. It was FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was pretty good! I used a can of beef gravy instead of the bouillon cube, because I like a thicker gravy. Make sure your meat is long enough! I didn't make them quite long enough, and had to REALLY hold them together with the toothpicks. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
My mom is from Franconia (Franken) and we basically use this receipe. We use German mustard, but smooth rather than whole grain. For those who may be inclined to omit the pickles, DON'T! They add a necessary flavor and further tenderize the meet. If you slice a whole dill pickle lengthwise and make those slices thin, they, and the thin slices of onion and thinly sliced bacon will all but cook away during the braising process. Also, use half water and half beef boullion; all boullion makes the gravy too salty since the liquid reduces considerably during cooking. And you must use the bay leaf--it's pretty standard in most German cooking! You need to make the gravy as well. We prefer potato dumplings as a side, but noodles are more traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Great recipe. Added fresh garlic, mustard and worchesterdshire to the beef broth and some sliced onions too. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
My nana is from Austria and this is her specialty. I was pleased to find that this is almost exactly like hers. We've altered ours to taste (like omitting the pickles, tenderizing the steaks, and halving the width of the strips to about an inch to inch and a half). I also do up mine in the crockpot for 6-8 hours on low (or 4-5 hours on high). God bless the germans for this awesome creation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lufbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethel, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Good receipe. I used tenderized roundsteak that I flattened even more with a tenderizer hammer. I spread a little dijon mustard, garlic powder nad black pepper on each strip of meat before putting on the bacon and onion and rolling up. My family does not like dill pickles, so I omitted them. I used a can of beef broth with some garlic cloves and bay leaf as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
THanks for sharing this recipe! It passed the test of my Oma. We had this for Christmas dinner and it was awesome. Some variations I did based on comments here and researching other recipes: We used top round, instead of flank steak at the recommendation of my butcher. It was cut for me scallopini style. I used grass fed beef. I also used organic beef broth instead of bouillon. I sauteed finely chopped onion, celery and carrots with the roulladen and included it in the simmer sauce. I also deglazed the pan with pinot noir. OMG what a smell!!!! I chopped the pickles fine, so that the bacon, onions and pickles were all the same size. I used turkey bacon (we have people who cannot eat pork in the family). By deglazing the good brown stuff with the wine after browning the rouladen, I was able to get the dark rich sauce I remembered my Oma making. I also made mine one day before and then slowly reheated them. I used cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I used toothpicks on some, and string on others to secure the rolls. Both ways worked. I ran out of dijon and used yellow mustard on half. I really could not tell the difference. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I made a few changes after reading other reviews.I added horseradish along with the mustard on each piece,also used a can of beef broth in place of the beef bouillon.I fryed bacon and onion then put it on.rolled and browned then placed in crock pot for 2hrs.Delicious.....don't forget the pickle...I served this with Chris' Kraut,recipe found on this site... ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States