German Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
really great. added a little four to the broth at the end to turn it into a gravy. it was a good finishing touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ghidoni
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Excellent! I was hesitant at first to cook with pickles, but very impressed with the outcome! My husband spent some time in Germany and was also impressed. I did substitute cube steak and added chopped onion, bacon and pickles to the sauce and thickened it a little with flower as well like a few people suggested and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Absolutely DELICIOUS! My mother makes these. Tips: Ask the butcher to cut some thin cut round steak for you. Most butchers never heard of rouladen and will cut it too thick, so tell them to cut it VERY thin. Not as thin as a cold cut, but close to it. Also, don't use toothpicks if at all possible. The meat sticks to the toothpicks and your rouladen will fall apart when you try to yank the toothpicks out. Best are metal mini skewers, 2 - 3 inches long, I found mine at a yard sale, perhaps they were for hors d'vours originally. Or tie the rouladen shut with a couple rotations of string. In the center, the onions and raw bacon needs to be finely chopped. Then low heat, and in addition to the suggested beef bullion cube, add some corn starch to thicken up a good gravy. Use a covered pot, one that's about 3" deep. I have an excellent one that has a glass lid and a thick metal bottom for even heat. This is the primo German dinner, top of the line!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Loved it! Used thin top sirloin instead of flank steak, but otherwise followed recipe. Served w/German egg noodles (broad) and made milk gravy from the sauce. My husband now calls this recipe his favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Bussman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Warrenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is a delicious recipe...definitely worth 5 stars - but I make mine a bit different and I actually like my recipe a bit more. I use the same ingredients other than the pickles. I use relish instead. I always cook my bacon first - I like crunchy bacon - I also roll my thin steak around a hot dog or sausage with all of the fixings next to the hot dog. I cook mine stovetop to brown, then add a touch of water to start making my own gravy then I add a jar of Franco-American Beef Gravy and let that simmer for awhile. I always serve this dish with potato dumplings or spaetzle. Delish, my families favorite! We just HAVE to have the Hebrew National hot dog in the center though...I was a bit lost without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessFalcone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mystic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
To the ingrediants inside each roll, add tomatoe slices. Season with Salt and pepper. Brown each roll in the butter before simmering in the water and bouilon bath. Make a rue at the end, add a little milk and add to the pot. This is the gravy. Serve with Mashed Potatoes and Red Cabbage. This is the traditional German way of making this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Unless I missed reading something this recipe is missing a very important component, the gravy. While the meat is simmering, add a bay leaf to the broth. At the end of cooking time discard the bay leaf. Prepare gravy by using brown gravy mix or flour. I grew up in Germany. My Dad made the best rouladen! Good gravy is absolutely essential to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
very good, made for german man, he liked said only thing he would do is add little tomato paste with mustard and little paprika. lazy so once browned added to slow cooker with broth and a pkg of onion soup mix and left on high for 5 hours. can't wait to make again.. not sure if I will do the tomato paste thing though as they were so good as they are. I didn't thiken gravy this time but will next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammanug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States