German Roasted Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
These were pretty good, though not what you get at a fair. The honey flavor was a bit overpowering and they were too sticky. I prepared the recipe as indicated with only one exception. In lieu of using all cashews, I used whole almonds, whole pecans and cashews in equal amounts. These were fine, but I will be looking for another recipe. I prepared these on PARCHMENT PAPER, not foil. The nuts did not even consider sticking to the parchment paper. Parchment paper is oven safe up to 420°F. I only use foil when I am unable to use parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Beth Ellenbogen Schopf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guilderland, New York, USA
Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I'd say follow this recipe to a T for possible success. I think I let the cashews sit too long on the tin foil after they had come out of the oven and they became like peanut brittle and also stuck to the foil. I had to put the pan back in the oven to soften the honey to get them off, then cooled them the rest of the way on a regular baking pan. Although I didn't try it, I like Patty Cakes's idea of adding a little salt. I think that might be better with almonds than cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
made this recipe for Oktoberfest party. Wasn't sure I had enough cashews so I added 2 cups of whole almonds and 2 cups of pecans (because they are my personal favorite) Turns out that made it the perfect amount - for a Double Batch!! Hurried and put necessary ingredients with original to double mixture. Other than accidentally doubling batch I added 1 TBS of sea salt before cooking. LOVED the results! Can't wait to see how they go over at party yet part of me wants to keep some home!! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sleeek
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I quartered the recipe, and added only a pinch of cinnamon. It only took about 7-10 minutes in my convection oven, stirring a few times. I also added the finishing sugar while still warm, then I cooled the nuts. I added about 1/2 teaspoon salt at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
they are good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Yummie nuts. I used a mixture of nuts (cashews, almonds, and walnuts), didn't let them sit for the full 20 minutes after baking (they were starting to stick to the foil), and added a bit of salt in the sugar sprinkling. I let them dry for about an hour after, stirring/shaking them loose sporadically, but they seemed a bit softer than I'd have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Great recipe, and very easy. I added garlic salt instead of regular salt for a change. I also let the nuts cool slightly, not the full 20 minutes. The sugar stuck to the nuts better (I thought).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Made these for Recipe Group. I had some problems with the mixture, I ended up with caramel almost on the nuts and had to pry them off the foil. I don't know if it would benefit from tossing the nuts in the mix first and cooking till dry and then roasting or if stirring in the oven would help. They were tasty, but I probably won't make again this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 14, September 2013 ~ I'm a few weeks behind on making this recipe, but it got done. Thought these were good, but think we would have liked them better made with almonds. The honey flavor really comes through in this recipe. Make sure they are completely cool before adding the additional sugar/cinnamon mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I saw this on Recipe Group and happened to have a large container of cashews I needed to use. I don't know what I may have done wrong but these remained moist & sticky. I added a considerable amount of additional cinnamon sugar but it just absorbed the moisture and stayed sticky. The flavor was good and did enjoy picking at them but wouldn't make them to have for company as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States