German Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I made this today, and I liked it. This was my very first time to cook (and eat) German rice, so I didn't have any comparison to make. My personal liking was to add more spice, although this original was indeed comforting to eat. Relatively easy cooking. 3 cups of uncooked rice made "really" a lot, more likely 12 servings or "Party size", well more than 7 servings that the recipe called for (was what I thought first). But anyway, I kept eating, eating, so maybe after my eating, it looked more like 6 servings left, or I alone could have eaten 6-serving (I am feeling very heavy now). Next time, I will increase the amount of raisins (want more raisins to the proportion of rice), and will cut some olive oil. The juice and grease from the brats were plenty to cook sausage. Also I will experiment with additional spices together with using the onion soup base, instead of chicken soup base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This was realllllly good :0) My guy didn't like it so much but, I did. It's a fruit thing, we didn't have raisins so I used cranberries. Don't worry I'll eat it. YUMMY.. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie :0)
Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Excellent! Of course had to change a bit with what was on hand...I used ground sausage, not bratwurst, because I'm lazy. Also added some celery seed with the fennel. Not sure if my sauerkraut was Bavarian, it's sauerkraut I get from the refrigerated section in a bag. The sauerkraut tang was there but just toned down enough that it's not all you think of. I used beef base instead of chicken. I was generous with the raisins, and they did not taste like raisins when the dish was done, just delicious so don't leave them out :) Servings are very generous. Now I am wondering what subbing some beer for the water would taste like...? Thanks for the fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
We all loved it the first night we had it but it didn't taste as good leftover. If I make it again I will cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This is perfect don't change anything or you just wasted a great one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This was fun to make and so easy. I didn't have chicken soup paste so I use chicken broth and it worked just as good. I added 1/4 cup of water at the end to get the rice to perfection had to add like 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was a great comfort food recipe and made a quick, easy supper. I had some buffalo bratwurst (now there's a combo for you!), and it was great in this recipe. This makes A LOT OF rice though, so next time I will cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
i had long grain wild rice on hand but otherwise made this as written, i was happy thinking it made enough for 2 nights but my son and husband loved it so much by the next night afternoon all that was left was the dirty dishes they left in their wake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I just made this. I love the balance of the flavors. I like sauerkraut but usually find it overwhelms whatever it is eaten with. The rice mellows out the sauerkraut perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This more than satisfied my bratwurst and sauerkraut craving! This is an excellent comfort food dish, and it came together very quickly on the stove making it a great week night meal. Make sure you grab a large enough pot because this makes A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States