German Puff Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is a great dish!! I love topping mine with a thin layer of lemon curd, fresh raspberries and whip cream...or Lime curd, mandarin orange slices, whip cream and chopped almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I was surprised in a very good way by these! I've neither made nor had baked pancakes before so I didn't know what to expect, and these definitely have me impressed. I halved the recipe for my boyfriend and I and made it in a smaller pan, so they may have been thicker than usual, but I liked them that way. Reminded me of French toast, but chewier. We both decided that these would taste great done in little yorkie pans (or muffin pans) to make them individual and then stuff them with bacon or sausage. As it was this morning, we topped ours with honey, peanut butter, and bananas (not all at once though). I also sprinkled cinnamon sugar on the whole thing as soon as it came out of the oven, and that turned out to be a great addition. Looking forward to experimenting with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillette

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Thought I would try something new for the kids.....they loved it! I think next time I would try unsalted butter as it did taste salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrLoves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Egg-cellent and super easy to make. It's going to disappoint if you're expecting anything like an American-style pancake. The eggs give it an entirely different texture. We had ours with some homemade mulberry syrup (with whole mulberries) mixed with regular maple syrup and with a dollop of sour cream. Amazingly decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Rosen
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I was so excited to find this recipe, I made it for my husband for fathers day and he LOVED it, the only thing he said was that it was a litte thicker than he would have liked, I think next time we will find a different pan, we used a pie pan and it was a bit thick. My girls did love to see it puff up and warming the eggs and milkl first really do make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This did not taste anything like a pancake. I should have figured that out, however, as the recipe calls for 6 eggs and only one cup of flour. It tasted more eggy than anything else. Overall it didn't taste bad, but it definitely didn't taste like a pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I am convinced I did something wrong because mine tasted so awful even the dog snubbed her nose at this. I'm going to attempt it again and will rereview then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
These tasted good but mine came out pretty dense in the middle. It puffed up around the sides and the middle felt dry when I pressed it (I also baked it for the amount of time the recipe said) but I thought it'd turn out more cake-like like a pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Excellent addition to any breakfast. Easy to make and has an excellent texture. I made mine with whole wheat flour, and only four whole eggs and some egg whites due to a pantry shortage this morning, but it was still great! I served with some egg whites, cooked apples with cinnamon, and agave nectar. Nice breakfast made with things that you usually have in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
i've made variations of this, called Dutch Pancake, Old World Pancake, etc...can do lots of things with it; it's great with apples too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Pancakes I

See how to make a simple 5-star pancake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States